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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.301.603 definitions, 
24.301.606 plan review and permit 
fee, and 24.301.607 inspections - 
certificates - fees 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT 
 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On October 2, 2014, at 9:00 a.m., a public hearing will be held in the Large 
Conference Room, 301 South Park Avenue, 4th Floor, Helena, Montana, to consider 
the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry (department) will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public 
hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Building Codes Bureau no later than 5:00 p.m., on 
September 26, 2014, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you 
need.  Please contact David White, Building Codes Bureau, 301 South Park Avenue, 
P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-2009; 
Montana Relay 1 (800) 253-4091; TDD (406) 444-2978; facsimile (406) 841-2050; or 
dlibsdbcb@mt.gov (board's e-mail). 
 
 3.  GENERAL REASONABLE NECESSITY STATEMENT:  The department 
determined it is reasonably necessary to amend several Elevator Safety Program 
(program) rules to remain compliant with the requirements of 37-1-134, MCA.  
Following an extensive program analysis and valid budgetary projections, the 
department concluded that the program is not operating in the manner required to 
keep the program's fees commensurate with associated costs. 
 Currently, the costs associated with a multi-story elevator are the same as the 
costs for a double stop device.  Because actual inspection costs vary with the 
number of building floors and stops, the department is proposing to add a fee per 
stop for elevator plan review and permits, inspections, and reinspections.  These fee 
adjustments will more accurately reflect the actual costs of the required inspections.  
The department is also defining an elevator "stop" to address confusion as to where 
passengers or freight may enter or depart, as this is directly related to the fee 
calculation. 
 The department estimates that the proposed fee changes will affect 
approximately 2,745 devices and result in additional annual revenue of $464,000. 
 
 4.  The rules proposed to be amended provide as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.301.603  DEFINITIONS  (1) through (3) remain the same. 
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 (4)  "Stop" for the purpose of fee calculation is any vertical or horizontal 
location of the elevator opening, escalator, or moving walk which is used to receive 
or discharge passengers or freight. 
 
 AUTH:  50-60-203, 50-60-705, 50-60-715, MCA 
 IMP:     37-73-201, 37-73-203, 37-73-208, 37-73-212, 50-60-703, 50-60-704, 
50-60-705, 50-60-715, MCA 
 
REASON:  Implementation citations are amended to accurately reflect all statutes 
implemented through the rule by deleting reference to a repealed statute. 
 
 24.301.606  PLAN REVIEW AND PERMIT FEE  (1) and (2) remain the same. 
 (a)  valuation up to and including $40,000 $200 
plus $50 per stop excluding lifts 
 (b)  valuation over $40,000 $200 
plus $50 per stop excluding lifts, 
plus $3 for each $1,000 or fraction thereof over $40,000 
 (3) through (6) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  50-60-705, 50-60-709, MCA 
 IMP:     50-60-105, 50-60-709, 50-60-711, MCA 
 
 24.301.607  INSPECTIONS - CERTIFICATES - FEES  (1) through (7) remain 
the same. 
 (8)  The fee for each separate department of inspection (initial, annual, 
biennial, accident, or reinspection) is: 
 (a)  elevator, escalator, and moving walk $140 per conveyance 
plus $50 per stop 
 (b)  lifts $100 per conveyance 
 (c)  department processing fee for a condition report issued by licensed 
private inspector $10 per conveyance 
 (d)  certificate of inspection fee $10 per conveyance 
 (e)  initial inspection for elevator, escalator, or moving walk 
$300 per conveyance plus $50 per stop 
 (f)  reinspection of initial inspection $300 per conveyance 
plus $50 per stop 
 (9) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  50-60-705, 50-60-711, MCA 
 IMP:     50-60-103, 50-60-705, 50-60-706, 50-60-711, 50-60-715, MCA 
 
REASON:  In addition to the new $50 per stop fees, the department is amending this 
rule to more accurately reflect the costs for initial inspections and reinspection of 
initial inspections.  Because these types of inspections are more involved and labor-
intensive for inspectors, it is reasonably necessary to increase the fees to a level 
commensurate with the associated costs.  The department is presenting these fees 
separately in this rule for added clarity. 
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 5.  Concerned persons may present their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to David White, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, 
Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-2050, or e-mail to 
dlibsdbcb@mt.gov and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., October 10, 2014. 
 
 6.  An electronic copy of this notice of public hearing is available at 
www.buildingcodes.mt.gov (department and program's web site).  The department 
strives to make the electronic copy of this notice conform to the official version of the 
notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all concerned 
persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed text of the 
notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text will be 
considered.  In addition, although the department strives to keep its web site 
accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web site may 
be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or technical 
problems, and that technical difficulties in accessing or posting to the e-mail address 
do not excuse late submission of comments. 
 
 7.  The department maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions.  Persons who wish to have their name added to the 
list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-mail, and mailing address 
of the person to receive notices and specifies that the person wishes to receive 
notices regarding all board or program administrative rulemaking proceedings or 
other administrative proceedings.  The request must indicate whether e-mail or 
standard mail is preferred.  Such written request may be sent or delivered to David 
White, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; 
faxed to the office at (406) 841-2050; e-mailed to dlibsdbcb@mt.gov; or made by 
completing a request form at any rules hearing held by the agency. 
 
 8.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 
 9.  With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the department has 
determined that the amendment of ARM 24.301.603, 24.301.606, and 24.301.607 
will not significantly and directly impact small businesses. 
 Documentation of the department's above-stated determinations is available 
upon request to David White, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, 
Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-2050, or by e-mail to 
dlibsdbcb@mt.gov. 
 
 10.  Colleen White, attorney, has been designated to preside over and 
conduct this hearing. 
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ PAM BUCY 
Darcee L. Moe Pam Bucy, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State August 25, 2014 


