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It is the duty of the 
Montana Board of 
Chiropractors to assure 
that chiropractic is 
practiced within the scope 
of Montana law and in a 
manner that does not 
harm the public.  
Therefore, the Board 
deals with statutory and 
regulatory issues such as 
scope of practice, 

OVERVIEW 

NEW BOARD MEMBER 
Governor Martz 
appointed Dr. Thomas 
Fullerton, D.C. to the 
Board effective January 
1, 2004. 
 
The Board officially 
welcomed Dr. Fullerton 
at its meeting in 
February.   
 
Dr. Fullerton graduated 
from Hamilton High 
School with honors in 
1967.  He then enlisted 
in the U.S. Navy and 
received an honorable 
discharge for his service 
from 1967 - 1971. 
 
In 1973 he began his 
studies in physical 
therapy at the University 

licensing, and
disciplinary action. 
 
The Board consists of 
four individuals 
appointed by the 
Governor, three of 
whom are chiropractors 
and one public 
member.  The terms are 
three years in duration 
and there is a limit of 

two consecutive terms.  
The Board 
administrator, who is an 
employee of the state of 
Montana, handles day-
to-day activities of the 
Board. 
 
The Montana Board 
takes its duties very 
seriously and welcomes 
your input.  

of Montana. Then in 
1976 he matriculated 
Western States 
Chiropractic College and 
graduated from WSC in 
1979 with his D.C. 
degree.  He became a 
National Board of 
Chiropractic Examiners 
Diplomat in 1980   
 
The Montana Board of 
Chiropractors issued his 
Montana Chiropractic 
license in 1980 and he 
has been a member of 
the MCA for 24 years.   
 
Dr. Fullerton also holds 
an Impairment 
Evaluators license 
issued by the Board in 
September of 1994.   

He was in private practice 
in Libby, Montana from 
March 1981 to March 
1989.  He then entered 
into a partnership in 
Kalispell, Montana from 
March 1989 to July 1991, 
and has been in private 
practice in Kalispell since 
July 1991 to present.  
 
His marriage of 22 years 
has blessed he and his 
wife with three children 
and one grandchild.   
 
Dr. Fullerton currently 
serves as a Board 
member of his church and 
is a former member, past 
secretary, and past 
president of the Kiwanis 
Club.    

Board statutes, 
rules, applications 
and additional forms 
and approved 
continuing education 
are now on the 
Internet.  Please take 
a minute to explore 
the Board’s Website: 
http://www.discovering
montana.com/dli/chi  
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REMEMBER: 
 
You have until 
September 1, 2004 to 
renew your license.   
 
PIN NUMBER 
LOCATION: 

Renewal time will be here 
before we know it.   

REMEMBER YOU CAN 
RENEW YOUR LICENSE 
ON LINE!  Try it you’ll like it! 
You’ll find your PIN number 
under your license status in 
the upper right hand corner 
of the renewal form.  

ADVANTAGES OF 
RENEWING ON-LINE 

Quick and easy! 

All questions have to be 
answered, so there are no 
mistakes that require a 
renewal to be sent back 

Renewal cannot get lost in 
the mail 

No postage (saves you a 
$.37 stamp) 

You can print your license 
immediately – no chance of 
it getting lost in the mail  
You get an immediate 
confirmation your license is 
renewed. There is no doubt 
that you are legal to practice

You can change your 
address   

Lost your renewal and don't 
have your PIN?  Simply call 
the office I can look it up for 
you! 

You can renew online up to 
90 days after the 
September 1 deadline.  The 
online renewal automatically 
adds the late renewal fee.  
After November 30, the 
renewal must be mailed in 
with the correct fees.  

 

DISADVANTAGES 

If you are changing your 

ONLINE LICENSE RENEWAL 
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license status (active to 
inactive) or (inactive to 
active) you must mail your 
renewal form in to the office 
with the proper form – this 
cannot be done on-line.  
The forms for changing 
license status can be 
downloaded from the 
Boards Website and need to 
be submitted with the 
completed renewal form.  

CAN’T THINK OF ANY 
OTHER DISADVANTAGES! 

Still want to mail in your 
renewal but have lost your 
renewal form, a renewal 
form can be printed from the 
website.   

("Select a Board Topic" 
then- "Additional Forms for 
Licensees" then "License 
Renewal Form.) 

REMEMBER: You have 
until September 1, 2004 to 
renew your license.  On 
September 1, 2004, if your 
license has not been 
renewed, your license will 
automatically terminate and
a late fee will be assessed 
when you do renew.   
Licenses can be renewed 
online up to 90 days after 
the renewal deadline of 
September 1.  This means 
that you will not be able to 
renew online after Midnight 
on November 30. 

 DO NOT SEE PATIENTS 
ON SEPTEMBER 2ND IF 
YOU HAVE NOT 
RECEIVED YOUR 
LICENSE AND HAVE IT 
IN HAND OR HANGING 
ON YOUR WALL!   

Call the office to see if your 
renewal has been received. 

HOW SHOULD I ANSWER 
THE DISCIPLINARY 
QUESTION ON THE 
BOTTOM OF THE RENEWAL
FORM? 

If you have ongoing legal 
actions against you, you need 
to check the answer “YES”. 

If a final action has been 
taken against you, you need 
to check the answer “YES” 

If any legal issue has been 
brought against you that might
affect your license then you 
must check the answer “YES”.

If you have a complaint 
against you in the Screening 
Panel, you must check the 
answer “YES”. 

 

If you have had a complaint 
brought against you that the 
Screening Panel dismissed 
you may answer the question 
“NO” 

 

RENEWALS ARE 
PROCESSED DAILY, except 
for Saturday and Sunday!  If it 
has been more than two 
weeks since you sent in your 
renewal be sure to call the 
office to see if it was received! 
Occasionally mail gets lost 
between being sent and being 
received!  DON'T ASSUME 
your renewal has been 
received!  CHECK!!!!! 

 

 

You can renew online up 
to 90 days after the 
September 1st deadline.   
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07/01/2003 TO 05/26/2004 
Applications Received: 33   New Licenses issued:              25

Non-Renewed License: 35     Licenses Denied:                       0 

 

Active In-State Licenses:         297   Inactive In-State:              21  

Active Probation Licenses:        1      Inactive Out-of State:              176

Out-of-State Active Licenses:  51        TOTAL INACTIVE:             197

Chiropractic Intern license:       3       TOTAL ACTIVE LICENSEES:  349

TOTAL LICENSEES:  547 
 

Board Statistics 

COMPLAINTS:  FY 2004  - July 1, 2003 to May 26, 2004  
 
FY '04 COMPLAINTS:                8 PRIOR YEAR COMPLAINTS 
    13 NEW COMPLAINTS RECEIVED
  
      0 CONTESTED CASES   
       1  INVESTIGATION COMPLETED 
COMPLAINTS CLOSED: (BROKEN OUT BY LATEST BOARD DECISION) 

1  DEFAULT ORDER  
7  DISMISSED (with prejudice)    

 2 DISMISSED (without prejudice)    
1 MULTIPLE SANCTIONS/PROBATION  
1  REVOCATION 

  
12 TOTAL CLOSED COMPLAINTS 

IMPAIRMENT 
EVALUATORS 
Those of you who have 
Impairment Evaluator status, 
need to renew your IE license 
this year.  Be sure you have 
received the required four 
hours of continuing education 
credit specific to impairment 
evaluation as required.  This 
four hours is in addition to the 
required 12 hours needed for 
renewal of your chiropractic 
license. 

DISCIPLINARY ACTION 
 
Disciplinary action taken in previous years can be viewed on the Board’s website in previous 
newsletters.  
 
Copies of disciplinary actions taken against licensees are available to the public upon written 
request to the Board.  
 
The Montana Board of Chiropractors took disciplinary action against the following licensees: 
 
YEAR           LICENSEE    
 
2003 THOMAS C. DONAHUE #734   REVOKED  

DOCKET NO. CC-03-0115-CHI Violation of §37-1-316 (8) AND (18) MCA.  
The Licensee’s license was placed on Summary Suspension effective 
11/20/2002and remained on suspension until 09/24/2003.  The Board 
revoked Dr. Donahue's license on 09/25/2003 

 
2003  TRACY GABBERT #361   PROBATION 

DOCKET NO. CC-03-0263-CHI Violation of 37-1-316(10), 37-1-316(18) MCA, 
and ARM 8.12.607(3) 
Licensee's license was placed on probation for an undetermined amount 
of time.   

DIRECT CONTACT OF 
BOARD MEMBERS:  
 
The Board members are always 
willing to visit with licensees 
regarding general issues.  
However, Board members, as 
individuals, are not allowed to 
speak for the Board unless a 
Board decision has been 
reached between all Board 
members at a regularly 
scheduled Board meeting.   
 
Therefore, anytime a licensee or 
a member of the public wishes 
to know the Board’s decision 
regarding a particular issue, they
need to write a letter to the 
Board and request a response 
from the Board at its earliest 
convenience.  This usually 
means at its next scheduled 
meeting.   
 
NEVER contact a Board 
member regarding a complaint 
(new, pending or even being 
considered) or any issue that 
might, in the future, be cause for 
disciplinary action against a 
licensee. 
The reason for this is that there 
are only four members on the 
Board and it may cause them to 
be recused from any discussion 
regarding that complaint or 
issue. This greatly jeopardizes 
the efficiency of the Board.   
 

IMPORTANT 
INFORMATION 
ÎÎÎÎÎÎ
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APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES 
 
You can now review all of the approved continuing education courses on-line.  
Just go to the Board’s website.  Using the drop down arrow by Select a Board 
Topic, choose Approved Cont. Education.  Here you can search four different 
ways for the course you are wondering about.  You can search by Sponsor, 
Course date, Course name or Location.  Simply put in the first letter of the course 
name, sponsor or location it begins with and the database will pull up everything 
that begins with that letter.  When searching by date and you don’t know the exact 
date but know the month you can put in 04/%/04 and it will pull all of the seminars 
being held in April of ‘04.  Call the office if you have questions. 
 
Looking for online courses only?  Online courses can be searched by going to the 
"Location" search and typing in "Online".  
 

Continuing Education 

12 continuing education credits 
are required for renewal.  Be sure that 
the continuing education course or 
seminar has been pre-approved by the 
Board.   

In order for the Board to 
approve continuing education courses 
and seminars, they generally must 
have the backing of one of the 
accredited chiropractic colleges. There 
may be a few exceptions to this rule 
but they are rare.    

Unless already approved as a 
CE provider by PACE, each provider of 
continuing education courses must 

After renewal, generally around the end of September, the Board randomly 
audits 10% of the active licensees to verify compliance with the continuing education 
requirements.  The computer randomly chooses the licensees and if your name is one 
of those selected you will receive an audit letter from the Board.    

 
THE FOLLOWING PROCEDURES AND DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS MAY BE 

IMPOSED WHEN THE RANDOM AUDIT SHOWS A LICENSEE DID NOT HAVE THE 
REQUIRED CE.  

 
Based upon the random audit, the Screening Panel will file a complaint giving 

the licensee the opportunity to respond.  If the licensee cannot produce proof of the 
required CE, the Screening Panel will then Notice the licensee for disciplinary action 
and imposition of any of the sanctions or combinations thereof as set out in 37-1-312, 
MCA. 

 

Continuing Education Requirements 

Continuing Education Audit 

.  

ÑWARNINGÒ 
 
DO NOT SUBMIT YOUR 
LICENSE RENEWAL 
UNTIL YOU HAVE TAKEN 
YOUR REQUIRED CE.   
 
CE must have been taken 
between 09/01/2003 and 
08/30/2004 to be eligible 
for this renewal period.  
 
Place your license on 
inactive status before the 
1st of September if you 
have not been able to get 
the required hours.  
 
By doing this you won’t 
have to pay the late fee 
and it will give you extra 
time to get the required 
hours.   
 
Just remember that while 
your license is on inactive 
status you cannot 
practice.  
. 

0 

apply to the Board for approval.  Each 
course is given a Course ID Number 
and if the course has been approved 
the provider will be able to give you 
this number.   

What if a provider has not 
requested approval?  You can inform 
them that the application form is on 
the Board’s Website and they must 
have the course approved for it to be 
accepted for CE credit towards 
renewal.  Or have them contact the 
Board’s Office.  
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PACE - Policies & Procedures Criteria for Quality Continuing Education 
 
PACE was adopted April 2003, by the FCLB Board of Directors.  The FCLB is now accepting applications 
from the providers of continuing education.  
 
Following is a Q & A sheet that will hopefully answer some of your questions about the PACE program.  

PACE 

ASSOCIATION OF 
CHIROPRACTIC BOARD 
ADMINISTRATORS 
The Board’s Administrator also 
attended the Association of 
Chiropractic Board 
Administrators annual meeting 
while in Denver.   
 
The Association's meeting 
covered topics on  
administrative law and animal 
chiropractic.   
 
The administrators also shared 
each state's best practices and 
problems areas, which evolved 
into great discussions. 

BOARD MEETINGS ARE OPEN 
TO THE PUBLIC  
  
The Board will continue to meet at 
least two times per year.  It will 
call other meetings as the need 
arises. Meeting dates and times 
can be found on the Board’s 
Website.  Minutes that have been 
adopted from previous meetings 
can also be viewed in this section.
 
SCREENING PANEL MEETINGS
The Screening Panel of the Board 
meets quarterly to review 
complaints. The date and time for 
these meetings are also posted on 
the Website. 
 
NEXT BOARD MEETING  
The Board's next meeting is 
scheduled for October 29, 2004, 
in Helena.  Watch the website for 
the meeting time and agenda.  
 



Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards 
Annual Congress Report 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The 78th Annual Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Board’s annual 
congress was held May 5th–9th, 2004 in Denver Colorado. The 
Montana Board of Chiropractors sent two board members and the 
board administrator. This year’s theme of “Tough decisions in 
Challenging Times” certainly rang true for all those in attendance. 
The information presented, and discussions that followed, were not 
only on issues our profession has struggled with for years, but also 
involved new and evolving concerns, that will be no less challenging 
in the future. 
 
Ethics, fraud, philosophy and standards of care, were but some of the 
multitude of topics wrestled with throughout the conference. Of 
particular interest to the Montana Board, were the issues of treatment 
of animals by Doctors of Chiropractic, as well as the Providers of 
Approved Continuing Education, or “PACE” program. On the issue of 
Animal Chiropractic, we hope to utilize the information gained through 
the efforts of other state boards, particularly Oklahoma, and become 
proactive, rather than waiting for a problem to arise before developing 
a strategy on setting up guidelines in Montana. 
 
PACE, which has been developed over the past 5 years by the 
FCLB as a centralized continuing education approval process, is 
now ready to begin accepting applications. PACE is designed to 
simplify the approval process for CE providers and significantly 
decrease the workload of state boards. PACE does not approve 
individual courses, but rather establishes uniform criteria to 
which CE providers agree to conform. Uniform course 
requirements, which parallel those currently common to 
Montana, ensure consistency in standards. Please remember, 
the Montana Board of Chiropractors will continue to accept 
applications for CE approval directly from those providers that 
choose not to enroll in the PACE program, on a case by case 
basis 
For more information on these, and other topics of interest to 
Chiropractic, please visit the FCLB website at www.fclb.org. 
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Montana Board of 
Chiropractors 

301 SOUTH PARK 
4TH FLOOR 

PO BOX 200513 
HELENA, MT 59620-

0513 
 

PHONE: 
(406) 841-2393 

 
FAX: 

(406) 841-2305 
 

E-MAIL: 
dlibsdchi@state.mt.us 

We’re on the Web! 
See us at: 

http://www.discoveringmontana
.com/dli/chi 

REMEMBER . . .  
You are always welcome to stop by, call, or write, the Board office in Helena if you have 
questions or just to say HI! ☺ 
 
Visit the Board’s website.  It is full of information, miscellaneous forms, this newsletter, 
proposed rule notices, rule adoptions, minutes, links to other sites, Board statutes, rules, 
applications, complaint form, additional forms and approved continuing education seminars 
are now on the Internet.  Please take a minute to look at the Board’s Website: 
http://www.discoveringmontana.com/dli/chi  

 

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD 

PRESIDENT      VICE-PRESIDENT 

PAMELA BLANCHARD DC     DANIEL PRIDEAUX, D.C. 

GREAT FALLS MT      MISSOULA MT 
TERM: 01/01/2000 - 01/01/2006    TERM: 01/01/2002– 01/01/2005 
 
 
SECRETARY      BOARD MEMBER 
   
JO AUSK, PUBLIC MEMBER    THOMAS FULLERTON, D.C.  
 
TERRY MT 59349     KALISPELL MT   
TERM: 01/01/2000 - 01/01/2006    TERM: 01/01/2004 - 01/01/2007 

 
 
 

CONTACT PERSON:  CHERYL SMITH BOARD ADMINISTRATOR 
(406) 841-2393 

FAX (406) 841-2305 
E-MAIL dlibsdchi@state.mt.us 

 

 

“NEW DOC SEMINAR” 
The Board will once again be offering a "New Doc Seminar" at the 
MCA Convention at Big Sky Resort on June 11th, and again on 
October 29th, in conjunction with the Board's next scheduled 
meeting in Helena.   
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TO FILE A COMPLAINT:  
 
A complaint form can be downloaded from the Board's Website or obtained by 
calling the office.   
 
Contact person regarding complaints is:                      
 

LaVelle Potter, Compliance Unit 
P O Box 200513  
Helena, Montana 59620-0513 
Phone:  406-841-2362 

 
Please make this information available to your patients 
 


