
MONTANA BOARD OF CHIROPRACTORS 
PO BOX 200513 

(301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR - Delivery) 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513 

(406) 841-2202   FAX (406) 841-2305 
EMAIL: dlibsdchi@mt.gov    WEBSITE: www.chiropractor.mt.gov

TEMPORARY PERMIT 
  
 u Applicant may be issued a temporary permit while waiting to take the NBCE 
  Part IV Examination or the Special Purposes Examination for Chiropractors (SPEC). 
 u A Temporary permit holder must practice under the on-premises supervision of a  
  chiropractor licensed in the State of Montana. 
 u Applicant and supervising chiropractor shall consent to the conditions of a temporary 
  permit. 
 u Applicant shall pass the Montana Jurisprudence Exam with a minimum score of 75%. 
  
TEMPORARY PERMIT DOCUMENTS: 
  
 u Completed and signed Application for Licensure 
 u Notarized "Consent Conditions for Temporary Permit" statement consenting 
  to conditions of a temporary permit; signed by both the supervising licensed 
  chiropractor and the applicant.  
 u Evidence of being scheduled to take either the NBCE Part IV or SPEC exam. 
 u Check or money order for the appropriate fees. 
  
 FEES: 
  $100.00 Temporary Permit Fee (paid in addition to the application fee) 

 ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
  

 JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION INFORMATION 
  
  All applicants are required to pass the Jurisprudence examination with a  
minimum score of 75%.  This is an open book examination covering the statutes and  
regulations.  The examination downloads with the application.  Statutes and rules  
can be downloaded from the Board's website at: www.chiropractor.mt.gov 
   
PROCESSING PROCEDURES: 
  
 When the application file is complete, it will be processed and considered by  
Board staff for permanent licensure.  The applicant may be notified if additional information  
is required or if required to appear before the Board for an interview. 
 If the application is considered routine it will take up to 14 days to process once the 
application is complete. 
 If the application is considered a non-routine application, there may be a delay  
in processing the application.  You may be requested to provide additional  
information, or make a personal appearance before the Board during a regularly 
scheduled Board meeting and/or the application may require Board consideration. 
Non-routine applications may take up to 120 days to process. 
 Keep the Board office informed at all times of any address changes, changes in  
license status and complaints or proposed disciplinary action.  This is essential 
for timely processing of applications and subsequent licensure. 
  

For information with regard to the processing of this application or other concerns 
please contact the Board of Chiropractors staff at (406) 841-2390 or 2331 or email  

us at:  dlibsdchi@mt.gov 
  
PLEASE BE SURE TO KEEP A COPY OF THE MONTANA LAWS AND RULES FOR THE PRACTICE OF 
CHIROPRACTIC WHICH ARE AVAILABLE ON OUR WEBSITE: www.chiropractor.mt.gov  
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MONTANA BOARD OF CHIROPRACTORS 
PO BOX 200513 

(301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR - Delivery) 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513 

(406) 841-2202   FAX (406) 841-2305 
EMAIL: dlibsdchi@mt.gov    WEBSITE: www.chiropractor.mt.gov

CONSENT CONDITIONS FOR TEMPORARY PERMIT 
  

1. Temporary permit holder and licensed supervising chiropractor must abide by 
 37-1-305 MCA, and 24.126.507 ARM. 
  
2. Temporary permit holder must practice under the ON PREMISE SUPERVISION OF 
 A LICENSED CHIROPRACTOR. 
  
3. Temporary permit holder cannot sign insurance claims, Worker's Compensation 
 claims, Medicare/Medicaid claims, or birth or death certificates, as only licensed 
 practitioners have this right. 
  
4. Temporary permit does not allow holder to operate a separate office as an  
 individual or practice as an individual. 
  
5. Any advertisement where the temporary permit holder is named or pictured must 
 designate him/her as a pre-graduate or post-graduate intern.  This designation 
 must appear with the name of the supervising licensed chiropractor. 
  
THE FOLLOWING SIGNATURES MUST BE NOTARIZED: 
  
We, the undersigned, agree to the above as conditions for issuance of a temporary permit.

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______ day of __________________,  ____________at 
  
________________________________________. 
City/State 
  
  
  
       ______________________________________ 
       Signature of Notary Public 
                 SEAL 
       ______________________________________ 
       Notary Public Printed Name 
  
       ______________________________________  
       For the State of 
  
My commission expires _______________________________, ____________

  
______________________________________________ 
Legal Signature of Applicant 
  
 

Date
  
______________________________________________ 
Legal Signature of Supervisor 
  
 

Date
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MONTANA BOARD OF CHIROPRACTORS 
PO BOX 200513 

(301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR - Delivery) 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513 

(406) 841-2202   FAX (406) 841-2305 
EMAIL: dlibsdchi@mt.gov    WEBSITE: www.chiropractor.mt.gov

ILLEGIBLE AND INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED. 
(Please allow 14 days for processing from the date that the Board has a complete routine 

application) 
  

CHIROPRACTORS ARE NOT PERMITTED TO PRACTICE IN MONTANA IN ANY MANNER 
WITHOUT AN ACTIVE MONTANA LICENSE 

  
LICENSE REQUIREMENTS: 
  
A. LICENSING BY EXAM 
  
 u Applicant shall have graduated from a chiropractic college that has been accredited  
  by the Council on Chiropractic Education. 
 u Applicant shall verify graduation with a Bachelor's degree from an accredited  
  college. (An applicant who graduated from or was enrolled in a chiropractic college  
  on or before October 1, 1995 is exempt from the bachelor's degree requirement.) 
 u Applicant shall have passed parts I, II, III and IV and Physiotherapy.  Examinations  
  are given by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE). 
 u Applicant shall pass the Montana Jurisprudence Exam with a minimum score of 75%. 
  
B. LICENSING FROM ANOTHER STATE (Endorsement) 
  
 u Applicant shall have graduated from a chiropractic college that has been accredited  
  by the Council on Chiropractic Education. 
 u Applicant shall provide documentation of current licensure in another state. 
 u License applicant shall provide proof of equal credentials from the current licensing 
  state.  Failure to demonstrate equal credentials may require successful passage of 
  the SPEC examination. 
 u Applicant shall request license verification be sent directly from the state(s) where 
  the applicant is licensed or has ever held a license. 
 u Applicant shall pass the Montana Jurisprudence Exam with a minimum score of 75%. 
  
  FEES: (Make check or money order payable to the Montana Board of Chiropractors) 
  $300.00 Application Fee  

 ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
  

DOCUMENTS: The following documents must be submitted to the Board office 
   in order to complete your license application. 
     
 LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION DOCUMENTS: 
   a Completed and signed Application for Licensure 
  a Official transcripts sent directly from an accredited Chiropractic College. 
  a Official transcripts sent directly from an accredited institution to verify 
   Bachelor's degree, if applicable. 
  a Official exam transcript sent directly from the National Board of 
   Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) including Part I, Part II, Part III,  
   Part IV,  and Physiotherapy. 
  a Two letters of  moral character (relatives may not be used as references).  
   The form can be found with the application material. 
  a  Verification of licensure sent directly from each state  where you are  
   or have ever been licensed (some states charge a fee for this service; 
   contact each state board prior to sending the request). 
  a Check or money order for the appropriate fees.
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LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT DOCUMENTS: 
   a Completed and signed Application for Licensure 
  a Official transcripts sent directly from an accredited Chiropractic College. 
  a Official exam transcript sent directly from the National Board of 
   Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) 
  a Two letters of moral character (relatives may not be used as 
   references). The form can be found with the application material. 
  a  Verification of licensure sent directly from each state  where you are  
   or have ever been licensed (some states charge a fee for this service; 
   contact each state board prior to sending the request). 
  a Check or money order for the appropriate fees. 
  
PROCESSING PROCEDURES: 
  
 When the application file is complete, it will be processed and considered by  
Board staff for permanent licensure.  The applicant may be notified if additional information  
is required or if required to appear before the Board for an interview. 
  
 If the application is considered routine it will take up to 14 days to process once the 
application is complete. 
  
 If the application is considered a non-routine application, there may be a delay  
in processing the application.  You may be requested to provide additional  
information, or make a personal appearance before the Board during a regularly 
scheduled Board meeting and/or the application may require Board consideration. 
Non-routine applications may take up to 120 days to process. 
  
 Keep the Board office informed at all times of any address changes, changes in  
license status and complaints or proposed disciplinary action.  This is essential 
for timely processing of applications and subsequent licensure. 
   
  
JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION INFORMATION 
  
  All applicants are required to pass the Jurisprudence examination with a  
minimum score of 75%.  This is an open book examination covering the statutes and  
regulations.  The examination downloads with the application.  Statutes and rules  
can be downloaded from the Board's website at: www.chiropractor.mt.gov 
  
For information with regard to the processing of this application or other concerns 
please contact the Board of Chiropractors staff at (406) 841-2390 or 2331 or email  
us at:  dlibsdchi@mt.gov 
  
PLEASE BE SURE TO KEEP A COPY OF THE MONTANA LAWS AND RULES FOR THE PRACTICE OF 
CHIROPRACTIC WHICH ARE AVAILABLE ON OUR WEBSITE: www.chiropractor.mt.gov  
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9. LICENSE NAME
(State your name as it should appear on the license if granted.)

FEMALE

MALE

PLACE OF BIRTH8. DATE OF BIRTH

FOREIGN ID NUMBER7. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

FAXHOME PHONE6. BUSINESS PHONE

EMAIL ADDRESS
HOME

BUSINESS
PREFERRED MAILING ADDRESS

Street or PO Box #   City and State      Zip
5. HOME ADDRESS

Street or PO Box #   City and State      Zip
4. BUSINESS ADDRESS

3. BUSINESS NAME

2. OTHER NAME(S) KNOWN BY

Last    First    Middle
1. FULL NAME

CHI_app.pdf 
Revised 7/07, 9/08, 2/09, 
3/09, 6/09, 6/10, 6/12 MONTANA BOARD OF CHIROPRACTORS 

PO BOX 200513 
(301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR - Delivery) 

Helena, Montana 59620-0513 
(406) 841-2202  FAX (406) 841-2305 

EMAIL: dlibsdchi@mt.gov    WEBSITE: www.chiropractor.mt.gov
Application for Licensure as: 
  
  
Allow 14 days from the date the Board has a complete routine application file for licensure.

 Chiropractor (Exam)  License from Another State (Endorsement)

10. Which exam did you take for initial licensure?  If the NBCE, please indicate which parts.

NBCE

State Board Exam Please indicate which state

Page 5 of 15

Part I Yes NoYes No Year Taken: 

Part II  NoYesYes No Year Taken:

Part III Yes NoYes No Year Taken:

Physiotherapy NoYesYes No Year Taken:

Part IV NoYesYes No Year Taken:



State License # Issue Date Expiration 
Date License Method Requested State 

Verification

 Endorse Other Exam Exam  Endorse Other  Yes  No No Yes

 Exam  Endorse Other Exam  Endorse Other  No Yes  No Yes

 Endorse Other Exam Exam  Endorse Other  Yes  No No Yes

11. List all professional licenses you currently hold.  Verification must be sent directly to  
 Montana from each state/province/territory.

CHI_app.pdf 
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Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No
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12. Have you ever had an application for a professional or occupational license  
 refused or denied?  If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide 
 supporting documentation from the source. 
  
13. Have you ever withdrawn an application for licensure prior to the licensing 
 agency's decision regarding your application?  If yes, please attach a detailed 
 explanation and provide supporting documentation from the source. 
  
14. Have you ever been denied the privilege of taking an examination required 
 for any professional or occupational license?  If yes, please attach a detailed 
 explanation and provide supporting documentation from the source. 
  
15. Have you ever withdrawn or been suspended, placed on probation, expelled 
 or requested to resign from any postsecondary educational program?  If yes, 
 please attach a detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation 
 from the source. 
  
16. Have you ever requested temporary or permanent leave of absence, been 
 placed on probation, restricted, suspended, revoked, allowed to resign, or 
 otherwise acted against by any professional or occupational education 
 program (i.e., residency, internship, apprenticeship, etc)?  If yes, please 
 attach a detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation from the 
 source. 
  
17. Has a licensing agency initiated or completed disciplinary action against any 
 professional or occupational license you have held?  If yes, please provide 
 agency documents including the complaint, initiating documents, orders, final 
 orders, stipulations and consent and/or settlement agreements directly from 
 the source. 
  
18. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered, cancelled, forfeited, failed to renew a 
 professional or occupational license in anticipation of or during an  
 investigation or disciplinary proceeding or action?  If yes, please attach a 
 detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation from the source. 
  
19. Has a complaint ever been made against you with a professional or 
 occupational licensing agency?  If yes, please attach a detailed explanation 
 and provide supporting documentation from the source. 
  
20. Have you ever been the subject of any sanction or action, denial, suspension, 
 revocation, restriction or termination regarding hospital, facility or staff 
 privileges; health maintenance organization participation, third party provider 
 or Medicare/Medicaid participation; or any other privileges?  If yes, please 
 attach a detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation from the 
 source.    
 

Yes No

Yes No
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Name of University or College City and State/Province/
Territory Dates Attended Degree Earned

Name of School City and State/Province/
Territory Dates Attended Degree Earned

Yes No

Yes No
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Yes No

28. PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION:

21. Have you ever been censured, expelled, denied membership or asked to  
 resign from a professional organization related to your profession or 
 occupation?   If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide 
 documentation from the source. 
  
22. Do you have any initiated or completed action against you by any state, 
 federal, tribal, or foreign licensing jurisdiction? (For example:  Drug 
 Enforcement Agency; Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms; Homeland 
 Security; Indian Health Service, etc)  If yes, please attach a detailed 
 explanation and provide documentation from the source.    
  
23. Have any civil legal proceedings been filed against you by a (patient/ 
 client), (former patient/client) or employer/employee?  If yes, attach a 
 detailed explanation and documentation from the source including 
 initiating document(s) and documentation of final disposition. 
  
24.      Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony crime or  
           do you have a pending criminal charge?  “Convicted” for the purposes  
           of this question includes a conviction under appeal, guilty plea, no contest  
           plea, and/or forfeiture of bond.  “A pending criminal charge” for the  
           purposes of this question includes a deferred imposition of sentence  
           and/or deferred prosecution.  If you answer yes, you must submit a  
           detailed explanation of the events AND the charging documents and  
           final judgments or orders of dismissal. You must report but may omit  
          documentation for: (1) misdemeanor traffic violations older than 10  
          years ago and that resulted in fines of less than $200; and (2) c 
           convictions prior to your 18th birthday unless you were tried as an adult. 
  
25. Have you ever been diagnosed with chemical dependency or another 
 addiction, or have you participated in a chemical dependency or other 
 addiction treatment program?  If yes, please attach a detailed 
 explanation and provide documentation regarding evaluations, 
 diagnosis, treatment recommendations and monitoring from the source. 
   
26. Have you ever been diagnosed with a physical condition or mental 
 health disorder involving potential health risk to the public?  If yes, 
 please provide a detailed explanation. 
  
27. Have you ever been court-martialled or discharged other than honorably 
 from any branch of the armed service?  If yes, attach a detailed 
 explanation and documentation for the source. 
 

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No
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31. PROFESSIONAL AND CHARACTER REFERENCES  
 Please type or print names and addresses of two references.  Use these reference names 
 to send the reference forms for your moral/professional character references.

Name:

Address:

Telephone 
Number:

Name:

Address:

Telephone 
Number:

DECLARATION 
  

I authorize the release of information concerning my education, training, record,  
character, license history and competence to practice, by anyone who might possess 
such information, to the Montana Board of Chiropractors. 
  
I hereby declare under penalty of perjury the information included in my application to 
be true and complete to the best of my knowledge.  In signing this application, I am  
aware that a false statement or evasive answer to any question may lead to denial of 
my application or subsequent revocation of licensure on ethical grounds.  I have read 
and will abide by the current licensure statutes and rules of the State of Montana 
governing the profession.  I will abide by the current laws and rules that govern my 
practice. 
  
   
Signature of Applicant: __________________________________ Date: ________

Page 8 of 15

Reason for denial?

By whom?

Number of times failed

30. Have you ever been denied specialty certification or failed to pass a 
 specialty certification examination or portion thereof?

Yes No

Certifying Agency Specialty Date Awarded, 
Re-certified

29. Have you ever been certified by a Specialty Board? Yes No



VERIFICATION OF MORAL/PROFESSIONAL CHARACTER 
  

APPLICANT:  Complete the upper portion of this form and mail to each of the character 
references you have listed in your application.

Date

  
________________________________________________ 
Legal Signature of Applicant 
  
 
(Please Type or Print) 
Name of Applicant:

Address:

This verification sent to:

CHARACTER REFERENCE: Please answer the following questions concerning the applicant's moral 
and professional character.  This document is your authorization to release any and all information 
and opinions you have, favorable or otherwise, directly to the Montana Board of Chiropractors. 
Your response will be kept confidential.

Name of reference: Daytime phone:

Address:

Title/profession/position:

How long have you known the applicant? In what capacity?
To your knowledge, does the applicant have any habits or practices that would adversely affect  
his/her professional activities?  If your answer is "yes", please explain: 
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
Do you consider this applicant worthy of approval to practice as a Chiropractor in                             
Montana? 
  
Please comment on the applicant's professional character, morals and ethics (attach additional sheet 
as needed): 
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

The Applicant and the Board thank you for your assistance.   
 

  
________________________________________________________ 
Signature of Reference 
  
 

Date

Yes No

Yes No

MONTANA BOARD OF CHIROPRACTORS 
PO BOX 200513 

(301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR - Delivery) 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513 

(406) 841-2202  FAX (406) 841-2305 
EMAIL: dlibsdchi@mt.gov    WEBSITE: www.chiropractor.mt.gov
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REQUEST FOR OFFICIAL VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE 
(THIS IS NOT AN ENDORSEMENT CERTIFICATION) 

  
APPLICANT: Do NOT send this form in with your application.  This is to be used as necessary to  
request official license verification from states or licensing entities in which you currently hold, or  
ever have held a license. 
  
COMPLETE THE  FORM AND MAIL IT TO ANY STATE BOARD IN WHICH YOU ARE REQUESTING  
OFFICIAL LICENSE VERFICATION BE SENT TO THE MONTANA BOARD.  YOU MAY COPY THIS  
FORM AS MANY TIMES AS NEEDED.  BE ADVISED THAT SOME BOARDS REQUIRE A FEE FOR  
THIS SERVICE.  IT IS RECOMMENDED YOU CONTACT THE BOARDS BY PHONE PRIOR TO  
MAILING IN THIS FORM TO SEE IF YOU NEED TO INCLUDE PAYMENT. 
 

LICENSEE INFORMATION 
To Whom It May Concern: 
I am applying for a license to practice Chiropractic in the State of Montana and the Board of Chiropractors 
requires official license verification.This is your authority to release any information in your files, favorable  
or otherwise, DIRECTLY to:  

Montana Board of Chiropractors 
PO Box 200513 

Helena, MT 59620-0513. 
  
Your prompt response is appreciated.

Name (Please Print) Signature

Address:

My License Number from your State is: License Type:

Street or PO Box #                                              City                              State                              Zip

MONTANA BOARD OF CHIROPRACTORS 
PO BOX 200513 

(301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR - Delivery) 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513 

(406) 841-2202  FAX (406) 841-2305 
EMAIL: dlibsdchi@mt.gov    WEBSITE: www.chiropractor.mt.gov

This form is to be used to request official verification from states where you hold or have 
ever held a license.  Please DO NOT return this form to our office.



PLEASE PRINT

MONTANA BOARD OF CHIROPRACTORS 
PO BOX 200513 

(301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR - Delivery) 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513 

(406) 841-2202   FAX (406) 841-2305 
EMAIL: dlibsdchi@mt.gov    WEBSITE: www.chiropractor.mt.gov

NAME DATE

MONTANA CHIROPRACTIC JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION 
  

This is an open book exam.  A passing score of 75% is required for licensure. 
  

Section 1 contains 20 true/false questions. 
  
Section 2 contains 20 questions each that describe actions that are in violation 
of the Montana Code Annotated (Statutes) and Administrative Rules of Montana 
(Rules).  Any of these violations can lead to SUSPENSION, RESTRICTION or  
REVOCATION of the chiropractor's license.  From the set of answers provided  
for each question, mark the answer of the most applicable statute or rule applying 
to the violation described 
  

By submitting this form I verify that I am the person that has completed this 
examination.

Address

Zip CodeCity State

Daytime Phone Evening Phone

Email Address

Page 11 of 15

ACTIVE INACTIVEPLEASE PLACE MY LICENSE ON:

EXAM STARTS ON NEXT PAGE 



MONTANA CHIROPRACTIC JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION REV 11/09

DATENAME

SECTION 1 - - Each question is worth 2 points 
  
Mark each question True or False

1. FALSETRUE An applicant for licensure must submit a completed application.  A complete application does 
not require exam scores from the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE).

2. FALSETRUE
Licensees can sign birth and death certificates.

3. FALSETRUE A temporary permit is granted to all applicants upon application.

4. FALSETRUE Complaints filed against a licensee for violation of a statute or rule must be filed with 
Montana Chiropractic Association.

5. FALSETRUE Licensees must be renewed annually by date of birth.

6. FALSETRUE The Montana Chiropractic Association appoints the members to serve on the Board of 
Chiropractors.

7. FALSETRUE The Board requires 15 hours of continuing education annually to qualify for license renewal.

8. FALSETRUE Six continuing education credits can be accumulated and carried over from one renewal year 
to the next.

9. FALSETRUE To qualify as an impairment evaluator, the licensed chiropractor must have been in active 
practice in Montana for five years.

10. FALSETRUE Applicants for licensure must be a graduate of a chiropractic college approved by the Board. 
 

11. FALSETRUE
Chiropractors may diagnose, palpate and treat the human body by the application of 
manipulative, manual, mechanical, dietetic methods, including chiropractic physiotherapy, 
the use of supportive appliances, diagnostic x-ray, minor surgery, and analytical 
instruments. 

12. FALSETRUE A licensed chiropractor who wants to become a preceptor to a student intern must have 
practiced for a minimum of 5 years.

13. FALSETRUE Chiropractic in Montana does not include surgery, the prescription or use of drugs, or needle 
acupuncture.

14. FALSETRUE An intern can see patients even though the preceptor has left the office for the day.

15. FALSETRUE A lapsed license that is not renewed within one year of the most recent renewal date 
automatically terminates.

16. FALSETRUE Upon being served a malpractice suit, a Montana licensee may have their case submitted 
before the Montana Chiropractic Legal Panel.

17. FALSETRUE
Having a physical or mental disability that renders the licensee unable to practice chiropractic 
with reasonable skill and safety is considered unprofessional conduct and could lead to 
license revocation. 

18. FALSETRUE A chaperone must be present at all times a patient is examined and treated intra-rectally. 

19. FALSETRUE A license must be renewed annually.  All applicants for renewal who have not paid the 
renewal fee on or before the renewal date shall pay an additional late fee.

20. FALSETRUE An impairment rating must be based on the current edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical 
Manual of Mental Disorders.



MONTANA CHIROPRACTIC JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION REV 11/09

NAME DATE

SECTION 2 - Each question is worth 3 points  (please mark only one answer) 
Section 2 contains 20 statements which are violations of the chiropractic statutes or rules, 
and which can lead to action against the license which may include suspension, restriction, 
revocation, or other appropriate action.  From the set of answers provided for each question, 
mark the answer of the most applicable statute or rule applying to the violation described. 
  
  
1. A doctor recommends 35 treatments for a simple cervical strain/sprain, clearly 
 more than warranted by the patient's condition. 
  
  
  
  
  
2. A licensed Chiropractor is advertising a permanent cure for any condition. 
  
  
  
  
  
3. A doctor performing emergency chiropractic services discovered that a patient exposed 
 him to an infectious disease. 
  
  
  
  
  
4. A doctor refers patients to other health care providers of facilities in exchange for a 
 referral fee. 
  
  
  
  
  
5. A doctor is audited for proof of his yearly Continuing Education hours and could only 
 prove 10 hours for that year because he thought he could use 2 extra hours he had  
 from the previous renewal period. 
  
  
  
  
  
6. A licensed chiropractor enters into a written contract with a patient for 12 adjustments 
 over the next 12 months, the balance to be paid in full before the first adjustment.  The 
 contract states that if the patient discontinues services with the chiropractor, all funds 
 are forfeited by the patient.

a. 24.126.2301(1)(f) b. 24.126.2301(1)(g)

c. 24.126.2301(1)(o) d. 37-1-317(3)

a. 50-16-702 b. 50-16-1004

c. 50-16-525 d. 37-12-322

a. 37-1-316(13) b. 24.126.2301(1)(g) 

c. 37-1-316(5) d. 24.126.2301(1)(o)

a. 24.126.2301(1)(a)(ii) b. 24.126.2301(1)(c)

c. 24.126.2301(1)(e) d. 24.126.2301(1)(d)

a. 24.126.511(2) b. 24.126.701(1)

c. 24.126.904(1) d. 24.126.2103(4)

a. 24.126.2301(s) b. 24.126.2301(1)(p)

c. 24.126.2301(r) d. 24.126.2301(1)(h)

EXAM CONTINUES ON NEXT PAGE 
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7. A doctor holding a temporary permit treats patients without the supervision of 
 an on-premises licensed chiropractor. 
  
  
  
  
  
8. In a yellow page ad, a chiropractor has an advertisement giving the implication 
 that he/she is a medical doctor. 
  
  
  
  
9. A doctor advertises in the newspaper that she has a certification for a procedure 
 that is not approved by the Board. 
  
  
  
  
10. A doctor performs breast examinations on all new female patients as standard 
 procedure. 
  
  
  
  
11. A license candidate has another person take the Jurisprudence Exam in his or her 
 place. 
  
  
  
  
12. A doctor, under false pretenses, makes statements against another licensed  
 chiropractor or health professional. 
  
  
  
  
  
13. A doctor allows her assistant to treat and bill for chiropractic services under the 
 doctor's name and license. 
  
  
  
  
  
14. A doctor is under the influence of alcohol while adjusting a patient.  
  
 

DATENAME
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a. 24.126.507(1) b. 24.126.2301(1)(g)

c. 24.126.704(1) d. 24.126.704(4)

a. 37-1-316(4) b. 37-1-316(16)

c. 24.126.2301(1)(i) d. 37-12-104(1)

a. 37-1-320 b. 24.126.2301(1)(a)(i)

c. 24.126.2301(1)(p) d. 24.126.2301(1)(a)(iii)

a. 24.126.2301(1)(b) b. 24.126.2301(1)(c) 

c. 24.126.2301(1)(j) d. 24.126.2301(1)(o)

a. 24.126.504(1) b. 24.126.901(5)

c. 37-1-316(2) d. 24.126.2301(1)(m)

a. 24.126.2301(1)(a)(ii) b. 50-16-528(2)

c. 24.126.2301(1)(q) d. 24.126.2301(1)(d)

a. 24.126.411(1) b. 24.126.2301(1)(u)

c. 37-1-316(15) d. 37-1-316(16)

a. 24.126.2301(1)(n) b. 37-1-320

c. 37-1-316(13) d. 37-2-302

EXAM CONTINUES ON NEXT PAGE 
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15. Dr. John Doe has a new patient that was unhappy with the care he received from  
 another chiropractor in town.  Dr. Doe requested records and x-rays from his  
 colleague who refused to hand copies of the records over. 
  
  
  
  
  
16. A doctor has offered an intern an opportunity to treat patients in his office for the intern's 
 last semester.  The doctor decides to save time and allow the intern to sign the  
 insurance form. 
  
  
  
  
17. A doctor sees a new patient who was in a car wreck and suffered a minor whiplash 
 injury to the cervical spine.  Knowing that private insurance cases pay well and that 
 he will be billing the offending driver's insurance, the doctor decides to bill the highest 
 EM code, then bills a 5 region manipulation, EMS, Ultrasound, trigger point therapy and 
 extremities for every visit.  The next day, another car wreck case case comes in but  
 there is no insurance involved.  Considering there will be no insurance payments on the 
 second patient, the doctor charges the patient a flat rate of $30 per visit. 
  
  
  
  
18. A doctor goes out with some friends one night and decides to smoke a little pot.  On the 
 way home he is pulled over by the police, who find a small bag of marijuana in his car 
 and arrest him.  The doctor is subsequently convicted of possession of an unlawful 
 substance. 
  
  
  
  
  
19. A doctor examines a 19 year old girl with low back pain.  He asks the girl if there is any 
 chance that she might be pregnant in order to obtain lumbar x-rays.  She replies that 
 she is 3 months pregnant.  The girl's mother comes in the next day to be treated and 
 in the course of the conversation talks about how she disliked her daughter's boyfriend 
 and that she wouldn't be surprised if her daughter was pregnant.  Without thinking, the 
 doctor blurts out that she is.  
  
  
  
  
20. Dr. Simpson applies for a license to practice chiropractic in Montana.  He reports no  
 adverse actions against his previous license but in the course of the state's routine 
 investigation, it is learned that Dr. Simpson's license was revoked in his previous state 
 due to sexual misconduct.

a. 24.126.411 b. 24.126.511

c. 50-16-541 d. 24.126.2301(1)(o)

a. 24.126.704(3) b. 24.136.704(4)

c. 24.126.2301(1)(p) d. 24.126.2301(3)

a. 24.126.2301(1)(b) b. 24.126.2103(1)

c. 24.126.2301(1)(r) d. 24.126.2301(1)(f)

a. 37-12-103 b. 37-12-101(3)

c. 37-1-316(1) d. 37-12-104(1)

a. 37-12-104(2) b. 50-16-541(1)

c. 37-1-316(17) d. 37-1-316(9)

a