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BEFORE THE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.155.301 definitions, 
24.155.401 fee schedule, 24.155.604 
licensure by examination, and 
24.155.608 licensure by 
endorsement, and the adoption of 
NEW RULE I military training or 
experience, NEW RULE II 
anonymous complaints, NEW RULE 
III nonroutine applications, and NEW 
RULE IV inactive license 
 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT AND 
ADOPTION 

TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On April 3, 2014, at 3:30 p.m., a public hearing will be held in the Small 
Conference Room, 4th Floor, 301 South Park Avenue, Helena, Montana, to consider 
the proposed amendment and adoption of the above-stated rules. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry (department) will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public 
hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Board of Massage Therapy (board) no later than 5:00 
p.m., on March 28, 2014, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you 
need.  Please contact Jason Steffins, Board of Massage Therapy, 301 South Park 
Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-
2329; Montana Relay 1 (800) 253-4091; TDD (406) 444-2978; facsimile (406) 841-
2305; e-mail dlibsdlmt@mt.gov. 
 
 3.  The rules proposed to be amended provide as follows, new matter 
underlined, stricken matter interlined: 
 
 24.155.301  DEFINITIONS  (1) through (4) remain the same. 
 (5)  "NESL" means national examination for state licensing as provided by the 
NCBTMB. 
 (5) through (7) remain the same but are renumbered (6) through (8). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-33-405, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-33-404, 37-33-501, 37-33-502, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule to establish a definition of the NESL to 
coincide with the addition of this examination to those accepted by the board for 
massage therapist licensure in ARM 24.155.604 and 24.155.608. 
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 24.155.401  FEE SCHEDULE  (1)  The department will collect the following 
fees: 
 (a)  application/licensing by grandfather clause $130 
 (b) (a)  application/licensing by endorsement credential $140 
 (c) and (d) remain the same but are renumbered (b) and (c). 
 (d)  annual inactive license renewal 45 
 (2) and (3) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-33-405, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-33-502, 37-33-503, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is striking (1)(a) from this rule to remove the application fee 
associated with licensure by grandfather clause.  Section 37-33-503, MCA, provided 
for this type of licensure to be effective only from July 1, 2010 to July 1, 2012.  The 
board intends to seek the repeal of this statute in the next legislative session, as the 
statutory authority for licensure by grandfathering has terminated.  The board is also 
amending the implementation citations to remove this statute. 
 The board is updating the term "endorsement" to "credential" in (1)(b) to 
assist the department in streamlining and standardizing licensure processes for all 
the administratively attached licensing boards.  Using consistent terms among 
numerous boards will help in this effort. 
 The board determined it is reasonably necessary to set a fee for annual 
renewal of inactive license to coincide with the establishment of inactive licensure in 
proposed New Rule IV.  This new fee will affect approximately 135 licensees and 
result in a reduction in annual revenue of approximately $6,075, since it is expected 
that the 135 affected will not pay the full active status renewal fee. 
 
 24.155.604  LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION  (1) through (1)(a)(v) remain the 
same. 
 (vi)  a passing score on either the MBLEx, NCETMB, NESL, or the NCETM 
examination or a state examination deemed by the board to be equivalent. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-33-405, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-33-502, MCA 
 
REASON:  Like the NCETMB (national certification examination for therapeutic 
massage and bodywork) and the NCETM (national certification examination for 
therapeutic massage), the NESL (national examination for state licensing) is 
administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and 
Bodywork (NCBTMB).  In fact, the NESL is the same exam as the NCETMB, but it is 
a noncertifying or credentialing exam used by those who want to take the test for 
state licensing, but do not wish to carry NCBTMB certification.  Because the board 
currently accepts the NCETMB, the board concluded that it is appropriate to accept 
the NESL and is amending this rule and ARM 24.155.608(2)(e)(ii) accordingly. 
 
 24.155.608  LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT CREDENTIAL  (1) through 
(2)(e) remain the same. 
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 (i)  a minimum of 500 hours of study that meets or exceeds the curriculum 
guidelines established by any program or organization accredited by the national 
commission for certifying agencies or its equivalent or successor; and proof of 
completing a program demanding a course of studies that includes, at a minimum, 
each of the following: 
 (A)  200 hours of in-class and instructor-supervised massage and bodywork 
assessment, theory, and application instruction; 
 (B)  150 hours combined of instruction on the body systems (anatomy, 
physiology, and kinesiology) and pathology; and 
 (C)  150 hours combined of business and ethics instruction and instruction in 
an area or related field that completes the massage program of study; and 
 (ii)  a passing score on either the MBLEx, NCETMB, NESL, or the NCETM 
examination, or a state examination deemed to be equivalent. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-33-405, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-304, 37-33-502, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend (2)(e)(i) to 
specify the complete curriculum requirements and clearly define what is needed 
from out-of-state applicants to obtain Montana licensure.  The current rule language 
does not break down the 500 total hours and does not adequately show equivalency 
to Montana's curriculum guidelines as provided by NCBTMB. 
 The board is amending (2)(e)(ii) for the reasons stated in ARM 24.155.604.  
The board is amending the rule's catchphrase to coincide with standardization of 
license terms within the department. 
 
 4.  The rules proposed to be adopted provide as follows: 
 
 NEW RULE I  MILITARY TRAINING OR EXPERIENCE  (1)  Pursuant to 37-
1-145, MCA, the board shall accept relevant military training, service, or education 
toward the requirements for licensure as a massage therapist. 
 (2)  Relevant military training, service, or education must be completed by an 
applicant while a member of either: 
 (a)  United States Armed Forces; 
 (b)  United States Reserves; 
 (c)  state national guard; or 
 (d)  military reserves. 
 (3)  An applicant must submit satisfactory evidence of receiving military 
training, service, or education that is equivalent to relevant licensure requirements 
as a massage therapist.  At a minimum, satisfactory evidence shall include: 
 (a)  a copy of the applicant's military discharge document (DD 214); 
 (b)  a document that clearly shows all relevant training, certification, service, 
or education the applicant received while in the military, including dates of training 
and completion or graduation; and 
 (c)  any other documentation as required by the board. 
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 (4)  The board shall consider all documentation received to determine 
whether an applicant's military training, service, or education is equivalent to relevant 
licensure requirements. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-145, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-145, MCA 
 
REASON:  The 2013 Montana Legislature enacted House Bill 259 and Senate Bill 
183, acts requiring the professional and occupational licensing boards and programs 
to accept satisfactory evidence of relevant military education, training, or service to 
satisfy licensing or certification requirements.  The bill was signed by the Governor 
and became effective on April 26, 2013, and is codified at 37-1-145, MCA. 
 The new statute requires each licensing board and program to adopt rules 
providing that certification or licensure requirements of the board or program may be 
met by relevant military training, service, or education, completed as a member of 
the armed forces or reserves of the United States, a state's national guard, or the 
military reserves.  In consulting with the bill sponsors regarding the rulemaking, it 
was clarified that the sponsor received input on the bill draft from Montana military 
personnel and the U.S. Department of Defense.  The sponsor was assured that the 
bill language, as reflected in this proposed rule, is intended to include relevant 
military training, service, or education received while serving in all branches of the 
military and reserves, including the U.S. Coast Guard.  It is reasonably necessary for 
the board to adopt New Rule I to coincide with and further implement the legislation. 
 
 NEW RULE II  ANONYMOUS COMPLAINTS  (1)  Anonymous complaints will 
be viewed with greater skepticism than other complaints.  The screening panel for 
the board is less likely to investigate an anonymous complaint to seek information 
regarding witnesses or other corroborative evidence.  An anonymous complaint may 
also be dismissed whenever a reasonable basis for the use of anonymity is not 
apparent to the screening panel. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-33-405, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-307, 37-1-308, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to adopt New Rule II 
and address the receipt of complaints from anonymous sources.  Some anonymous 
complaints have appeared to be baseless and improperly motivated.  While the 
board recognizes a legitimate purpose for anonymous complaints in some 
circumstances, the board believes that it is reasonably necessary to adopt this rule 
and put complainants on notice of how the board generally views anonymous 
complaints.  The board intends for New Rule II to discourage baseless complaints 
brought under the cover of anonymity and to encourage full disclosure to assist the 
board in pursuing legitimate complaints. 
 
 NEW RULE III  NONROUTINE APPLICATIONS  (1)  An application for 
licensure as a massage therapist must be considered nonroutine in nature requiring 
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board review and approval prior to issuance of the license if the application 
discloses: 
 (a)  that the applicant has a prior felony conviction of any nature or a prior 
misdemeanor conviction relating to sex or violence; 
 (b)  that the applicant has had two or more alcohol or drug related convictions 
within the last three years; 
 (c)  that any professional license held by the applicant was disciplined or was 
voluntarily surrendered in another state or jurisdiction, or that the applicant's 
massage therapy license was denied in another state or jurisdiction; 
 (d)  that the applicant's education program does not clearly meet the board's 
requirements; 
 (e)  that the applicant passed a licensing examination other than MBLEx, 
NCETMB, NESL, or NCETM; 
 (f)  that the applicant has been a respondent in a complaint for unlicensed 
practice of massage therapy that led to a cease and desist letter or an injunctive 
action; or 
 (g)  any substantive irregularity deemed by department staff to warrant board 
review and approval prior to issuance of the license. 
 (2)  Any disposition in a criminal case other than acquittal will be deemed a 
"conviction" for purposes of this rule without regard to the nature of the plea or 
whether the applicant received a suspended or deferred sentence. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-33-405, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-101, 37-1-131, 37-33-501, 37-33-502, MCA 
 
REASON:  Section 37-1-101, MCA, specifies that the department is responsible for 
receipt and processing of routine applications for all boards administratively attached 
to the department.  Because the board meets only quarterly, the requirement that 
the board review all applications having some type of irregularity has resulted in 
unnecessary delays in issuing licenses.  The board concluded that with the guidance 
provided in this new rule, as well as in the board's current rules and Title 37, chapter 
33, MCA, department staff will be able to competently process more applications 
and issue original licenses and renewals without additional board review. 
 
 NEW RULE IV  INACTIVE LICENSE  (1)  A licensee who wishes to retain a 
license, but who will not be practicing massage therapy, may place the license on 
inactive status by submitting a written request on a form prescribed by the 
department. 
 (2)  An individual licensed on inactive status may not practice massage 
therapy during the period in which the license remains on inactive status. 
 (3)  A licensee on inactive status shall: 
 (a)  renew along with active licensees according to renewal dates specified in 
ARM 24.101.413; 
 (b)  pay the annual inactive status fee specified in ARM 24.155.401; and 
 (c)  be exempt from continuing education requirements. 
 (4)  A licensee on inactive status may change to active status by: 
 (a)  submitting a written request on a form prescribed by the department; 
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 (b)  paying the balance of the renewal fee that would be due for an active 
license in the then-current renewal period; and 
 (c)  providing proof that either of the following were completed within 12 
months of activation: 
 (i)  six hours of continuing education; or 
 (ii)  any of the examinations identified in ARM 24.155.604. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-33-405, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-319, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to adopt New Rule IV 
to establish criteria for massage therapists to place their licenses on inactive status.  
The board notes that, at times, massage therapists may have periods without work, 
but may still want to maintain their license and not practice.  This new rule will allow 
those individuals to maintain their licenses without the additional costs of reapplying 
and testing. 
 
 5.  Concerned persons may present their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to the Board of Massage Therapy, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 
200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-2305, or by e-mail 
to dlibsdlmt@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., April 11, 2014. 
 
 6.  An electronic copy of this notice of public hearing is available at 
www.massagetherapists.mt.gov (department and board's web site).  The department 
strives to make the electronic copy of this notice conform to the official version of the 
notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all concerned 
persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed text of the 
notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text will be 
considered.  In addition, although the department strives to keep its web site 
accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web site may 
be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or technical 
problems, and that technical difficulties in accessing or posting to the e-mail address 
do not excuse late submission of comments. 
 
 7.  The board maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this board.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies that the 
person wishes to receive notices regarding all board administrative rulemaking 
proceedings or other administrative proceedings.  The request must indicate 
whether e-mail or standard mail is preferred.  Such written request may be sent or 
delivered to the Board of Massage Therapy, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 
200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; faxed to the office at (406) 841-2305; e-
mailed to dlibsdlmt@mt.gov; or made by completing a request form at any rules 
hearing held by the agency. 
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 8.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply and have 
been fulfilled.  The primary bill sponsors were contacted on December 16, 2013, by 
electronic mail. 
 
 9.  With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the board has 
determined that the amendment of ARM 24.155.301, 24.155.401, 24.155.604, and 
24.155.608 will not significantly and directly impact small businesses. 
 With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the board has determined 
that the adoption of New Rules I through IV will not significantly and directly impact 
small businesses. 
 Documentation of the board's above-stated determination is available upon 
request to the Board of Massage Therapy, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 
200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-2329; facsimile (406) 
841-2305; or e-mail dlibsdlmt@mt.gov. 
 
 10.  Darcee L. Moe, attorney, has been designated to preside over and 
conduct this hearing. 
 
 BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY  
 CAROLE LOVE, CHAIR  
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ PAM BUCY 
Darcee L. Moe Pam Bucy, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State March 3, 2014 


