Montana Board of Pharmacy
Inactive Pharmacist Renewal
Rev. 4/2016
MONTANA BOARD OF PHARMACY

P. O. Box 200513
(301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR - Delivery)
Helena, Montana 59620-0513
PHONE (406) 444-5679 OR (406) 841-2300
E-MAIL: dlibsdpha@mt.gov WEBSITE: www.pharmacy.mt.gov

INACTIVE PHARMACIST REQUEST FORM

Montana Pharmacist License Number: Date of Request for Inactive Status:

Pharmacist Name:

Address (Home):

City: Date: Zip Code:

Phone Number: Email Address:

Current Place of
Employment:

Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Phone Number: Email Address:

INFORMATION REGARDING INACTIVE STATUS:

TO COMPLY WITH ARM 24.174.404 AND 24.101.301 — ABATEMENT OF RENEWAL FEES, THE
BOARD OF PHARMACY WILL REDUCE RENEWAL FEES BY 50% DURING THE REGULAR 2016
RENEWAL PERIOD AS INDICATED BELOW. LATE FEES WILL APPLY FOR THOSE RENEWING AFTER
June 30, 2016. LATE FEES ARE 1002 OF THE RENEWAL FEE.

e The fee for Inactive Pharmacist Status is the abated fee of $12.50. Applications postmarked after
June 30 will be assessed a penalty fee of $12.50, increasing the total amount due to $25.00.

e A pharmacist with an inactive Montana license may not practice in Montana for the period of
inactive licensure.

e A pharmacist with an inactive Montana license must comply with the continuing education
requirements of Montana and is subject to the annual audit of continuing education.

e A pharmacist with an inactive Montana license must renew the inactive license annually.

e A pharmacist must contact the Board office to reactivate an inactive Montana license:

1) Inactive Status three years or less, whether or not the pharmacist has been in practice
in another state:

a) Submit a written request for status change to the Board.

b) Pay either the difference between the current inactive and active license renewal fees if the
change occurs between renewal periods or the full active license renewal fee if the change
occurs during the regular renewal period.

c) Certify that: no disciplinary action has been taken by any state or federal jurisdiction which
would prevent or restrict the pharmacist’s practice of the profession and the pharmacist has
not surrendered any credential or privilege in the practice of the profession in lieu of or to
avoid formal action.
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2)

3)

4)

d) Submit verification of active practice from the state(s) in which practice occurred
e) Provide proof that continuing education requirements for the period of inactive licensure
have been satisfied

Inactive Status of three to five years, who has not been in active practice in another

U.S. state:

a) Submit a written request for status change to the Board.

b) Pay either the difference between the current inactive and active license renewal fees if the
change occurs between renewal periods or the full active license renewal fee if the change
occurs during the regular renewal period.

c) Certify that: no disciplinary action has been taken by any state or federal jurisdiction which
would prevent or restrict the pharmacist’s practice of the profession and the pharmacist has
not surrendered any credential or privilege in the practice of the profession in lieu of or to
avoid formal action.

d) Submit verification of active practice from the state(s) in which practice occurred.

e) Provide proof that continuing education requirements for the period of inactive licensure
have been satisfied.

f) Complete an appropriate internship of 300 hours or take and pass the North American
Pharmacist Licensure Examination (NAPLEX).

g) Take and pass the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) for the state of
Montana.

Inactive Status of five years or more, who has not been in active practice in another

U.S. state:

a) Submit a written request for status change to the Board.

b) Pay either the difference between the current inactive and active license renewal fees if the
change occurs between renewal periods or the full active license renewal fee if the change
occurs during the regular renewal period.

c) Certify that: no disciplinary action has been taken by any state or federal jurisdiction which
would prevent or restrict the pharmacist’s practice of the profession and the pharmacist has
not surrendered any credential or privilege in the practice of the profession in lieu of or to
avoid formal action.

d) Submit verification of active practice from the state(s) in which practice occurred.

e) Provide proof that continuing education requirements for the period of inactive licensure
have been satisfied.

f) Complete an appropriate internship of 300 hours.

g) Take and Pass the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination (NAPLEX).

h) Take and pass the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) for the state of
Montana.

Inactive status for more than three years who has been in active practice in another

U.S. state:

a) Written request for status change to the Board.

b) Pay either the difference between the current inactive and active license renewal fees if the
change occurs between renewal periods or the full active license renewal fee if the change
occurs during the regular renewal period.

c) Certify that: no disciplinary action has been taken by any state or federal jurisdiction which
would prevent or restrict the pharmacist’s practice of the profession; the pharmacist has not
surrendered any credential or privilege in the practice of the profession in lieu of or to avoid
formal action.

d) Submit verification of active practice from the state(s) in which practice occurred.

e) Provide proof that continuing education requirements for the period of inactive licensure
have been satisfied.

f) Take and pass the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) for the state of
Montana.
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CONTINUING EDUCATION STATEMENT:

e You are required to obtain 1.5 CPE units or 15 clock hours with a minimum of .5 CPE units to be

obtained in approved group settings within the twelve months prior to June 30 in order to renew

your license.

Carryover CPE from the previous twelve months may be used to satisfy this requirement.

An additional 15 hours may be accumulated and applied to the following fiscal year (07-1 to 06-30).

Once approved, a course may not be used more than once to satisfy this requirement.

New graduate pharmacists renewing for the first time are exempt from this requirement.

Pharmacists residing in another state are required to meet Montana's requirements for continuing

pharmacy education.

e The Board will be conducting a random audit of licensees following the renewal cycle to insure
compliance.

e If you are among those selected, you will be notified after August 15 to submit documentation that
you have completed the requirement.

ANY CPE NON-COMPLIANCE DETERMINED BY THE AUDIT WILL BE HANDLED BY THE BOARD AS A
DISCIPLINARY MATTER.

OYes ONo Have you completed the continuing pharmacy education requirements described above
for this renewal period?

OvYes (No Not applicable - first time renewing Montana license.

You may not renew your license if CPE requirements have not been completed.
You may renew the license once the CPE requirements are met.

MILITARY EXEMPTION: Section 37-1-138, MCA, provides for activated military reservists to defer the
collection of license fees, continuing education requirements, and the suspension of certain disciplinary
actions for persons in military service who affirmatively request that their license be placed on inactive
status. Therefore, upon receipt of a copy of the reservist's orders to Federal active duty and submission
of this completed form, the board will place such person's license on Inactive Reserve status.

OYes ONo Have any legal or disciplinary actions been instituted against you or any of
your professional licenses since either your initial licensure in Montana or since you
renewed your license, whichever occurred latest? If so, please attach copies of the document
that initiated each action and all final orders. Mont. Code Ann. Sec 37-1-105 requires that you report
this information. Failure to accurately furnish the information is grounds for denial or revocation of your
license.

By submitting this application, | am declaring under penalty of perjury that my renewal application is
true and complete and that I have complied with the continuing pharmacy education requirements and
that | am aware that a false statement may lead to discipline against my license. | have read and
understand the information regarding inactive pharmacist license.

Your signature: Date:

Telephone #:

DO NOT SEND CASH
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