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BEFORE THE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.177.401 fees, 24.177.501 
examinations, 24.177.504 temporary 
licenses, 24.177.507 licensure of out-
of-state applicants, 24.177.510 
foreign-trained physical therapy 
applicants, 24.177.2105 continuing 
education, 24.177.2301 
unprofessional conduct, and the 
repeal of ARM 24.177.2405 
screening panel 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT AND 
REPEAL 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On May 31, 2012, at 10:30 a.m., a public hearing will be held in room 439, 
301 South Park Avenue, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed amendment 
and repeal of the above-stated rules. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry (department) will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public 
hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Board of Physical Therapy Examiners (board) no later 
than 5:00 p.m., on May 25, 2012, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation 
that you need.  Please contact Linda Grief, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 
301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; telephone 
(406) 841-2395; Montana Relay 1 (800) 253-4091; TDD (406) 444-2978; facsimile 
(406) 841-2305; e-mail dlibsdptp@mt.gov. 
 
 3.  The rules proposed to be amended provide as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.177.401  FEES  (1) and (a) remain the same. 
 (b) (c)  Application for out-of-state licensure 
       Out-of-state license application fee $125  
 (c) (e)  Renewal fee 60  
 (d)  Temporary license fee 100 
 (e) (b)  Original license application fee 100  
 (f) through (3) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-11-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-1-304, 37-1-305, 37-11-201, 37-11-304, 37-
11-307, MCA 
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REASON:  The board is amending this rule to achieve consistency in terminology 
within board and department rules and for better organization and ease of use.  It is 
reasonably necessary to delete an erroneous implementation cite to accurately 
reflect the statutes implemented through this rule. 
 
 24.177.501  EXAMINATIONS  (1)  The examination will be the national 
physical therapy exam (NPTE) or another equivalent examination as the board may, 
in its discretion, approve and adopt for physical therapist applicants.  The 
examination for physical therapist assistants will be the national physical therapist 
assistant examination (NPTAE), or another equivalent examination as the board 
may, in its discretion, approve and adopt. 
 (2)  Exact examination dates will be established by the current testing service 
as the national uniform testing date dates.  Applicants must have their complete 
applications in the board office at least 45 days prior to the examination date. 
 (3)  The board may, after review of an application, request the an applicant to 
meet with the board at a time designated by the board and prior to licensure, for the 
purpose of conducting an oral interview as per 37-11-303, MCA. 
 (4) remains the same. 
 (a)  application for examination fee; 
 (b) remains the same. 
 (c)  three statements of good moral character, one of which is a professional 
reference from a licensed physical therapist, and two others from persons with 
knowledge of the applicant within the past five years.  All reference letters must be 
sent directly to the board office from the reference source; 
 (d) and (e) remain the same, but are renumbered (c) and (d). 
 (5) remains the same. 
 (a)  All applicants who have previously taken the NPTE, in any jurisdiction, 
shall submit a request for test history verification and the fee to the testing service, 
on a form prescribed by the board. 
 (6) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-11-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-304, 37-11-303, 37-11-304, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule to accurately reflect the current 
examination process and requirements.  In addition, the board is deleting the 
requirement for three statements of good moral character at (4)(c).  The board 
concluded that a letter from a friend or someone who has known the applicant for a 
period of time is not an accurate indication of "good moral character."  The board 
acknowledges that an applicant's good moral character can be evidenced by a 
showing in the application of no criminal record or discipline. 
 
 24.177.504  TEMPORARY LICENSES  (1)  Physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant applicants for licensure by examination may be issued a 
temporary license.  The temporary license shall identify the licensed physical 
therapist who shall be responsible for providing direct supervision.  After issuance of 
the temporary license, the applicant must take and pass his/her examination within 
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60 120 days of the issuance date.  Only one temporary license will be issued per 
applicant. 
 (2) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-11-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-305, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend this rule and 
extend the duration for temporary licenses.  Because the national examination no 
longer has open dates, and will only be given five times in 2012 and four times in 
2013, this amendment will ensure that applicants have ample time to take and pass 
the exam. 
 
 24.177.507  LICENSURE OF OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS  (1) through 
(2)(b) remain the same. 
 (c)  verification of graduation from a board approved board-approved physical 
therapy school or physical therapist assistant curriculum; 
 (d) remains the same. 
 (e)  three statements of good moral character, one of which is a professional 
reference from a licensed physical therapist, and two others from persons with 
knowledge of the applicant within the past five years.  All reference letters must be 
sent directly to the board office from the reference source; 
 (f) and (g) remain the same, but are renumbered (e) and (f). 
 (3) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-11-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-304, 37-11-307, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is deleting the requirement for three statements of good moral 
character from this rule and ARM 24.177.510.  The board concluded that a letter 
from a friend or someone who has known the applicant for a period of time is not an 
accurate indication of "good moral character."  The board acknowledges that an 
applicant's good moral character can be evidenced by a showing in the application 
of no criminal record or discipline. 
 
 24.177.510  FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL THERAPIST APPLICANTS 
 (1) through (1)(c) remain the same. 
 (d)  submit three statements of good moral character; 
 (e) through (g) remain the same, but are renumbered (d) through (f). 
 (h) (g)  All applicants who have previously taken the NPTE, in any jurisdiction, 
shall submit a request for test history verification and the fee to the testing service, 
on a form prescribed by the board. 
 (2) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-11-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-11-310, MCA 
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 24.177.2105  CONTINUING EDUCATION  (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  Continuing education hours/credits shall be reported as follows: 
 (a)  Each 60 minutes of instruction equals one continuing education 
hour/credit; 
 (a) (b)  Licensees with even-numbered licenses shall submit at least 20 
continuing education hours/credits earned within the 24 months prior to the renewal 
date set by the department in each even-numbered year.  Licensees in this category 
will not report continuing education on the odd-numbered years, but must renew 
their license each year; 
 (b) (c)  Licensees with odd-numbered licenses shall submit at least 20 
continuing education hours/credits earned within the 24 months prior to the renewal 
date set by the department in each odd-numbered year.  Licensees in this category 
will not report continuing education on the even-numbered years, but must renew 
their license each year; 
 (c) remains the same, but is renumbered (d). 
 (d) (e)  It is the responsibility of the licensee to establish and maintain detailed 
records of continuing education compliance in the form of programs and certificates 
of attendance and make them available upon board request; and 
 (f)  Course work may be live, by correspondence, video conferencing, 
internet, or be satellite-based; and 
 (e) (g)  The board will randomly audit continuing education hours/credits. 
 (3) remains the same. 
 (a)  the The activity must have significant intellectual or practical content.  The 
activity must deal primarily with substantive physical therapy issues as physical 
therapy is defined in Montana.  The board may accept continuing education activities 
from other professional groups or academic disciplines if the licensee demonstrates 
that the activity is substantially related to the licensee's practice as a physical 
therapist or physical therapist assistant; 
 (b)  a continuing education program may be a class, lecture, conference, 
workshop, cassette or videotape, correspondence or online course, or peer-
reviewed publication of a journal article(s), or textbook(s); 
 (c)  the activity must be conducted by an individual or group qualified by 
practical or academic experience; 
 (b)  The board/staff does not preapprove any activities or sponsors for 
continuing education credits.  All accepted continuing education hours/credits in 
category A, B, or C must meet the Standards of Continuing Competence (SCC) set 
forth by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT).  A licensee 
can determine the acceptability of a course or activity by referencing the current 
SCC activities set forth by the FSBPT.  It is the responsibility of the licensee to select 
programs that contribute to their knowledge and competence in the physical therapy 
field, and which meet the qualifications specified in these rules; 
 (d) (c)  all All acceptable continuing education courses must issue a program 
and a certificate of completion.  The program must contain the following information:  
full name and qualifications of the presenter;, title of the presentations;, number of 
hours, date and location of each presentation;, name of sponsor;, and description of 
the presentation format.  The certificate must bear an official signature or verification 
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of the program sponsor and list the course name, number of hours of continuing 
education obtained by the licensee, and date and location of the presentation; 
 (d)  Programs that promote a company, individual, or product, and programs 
whose subject is to practice economics cannot be credited for continuing education, 
except those programs specifically dealing with workers' compensation, public 
health, Medicare, or insurance coverage issues. 
 (e)  programs that promote a company, individual, or product, and programs 
whose subject is practice economics cannot be credited for continuing education, 
except those programs specifically dealing with workers' compensation, public 
health, medicare, or insurance coverage issues; and 
 (f)  a maximum of four hours of continuing education credit are allowed for 
presenting a continuing education course in each two-year cycle.  The course must 
be presented to a group that includes physical therapists and physical therapist 
assistants for continuing education credit. 
 (4)  Implementation for continuing education shall be as follows: 
 (a)  one continuing education credit shall be granted for each hour of 
participation in a lab or lecture of the continuing education program, excluding 
breaks and meals; 
 (b)  a maximum of two credits for cassette or videotape lectures; 
 (c)  a maximum of four credits from online or correspondence courses; 
 (d)  a maximum of ten credits is allowed per reporting period for peer-
reviewed publication(s); and 
 (e)  licensees whose regular occupation is teaching of physical therapy 
related courses will not be allowed continuing education credit for these regular 
teaching duties. 
 (5)  The board/staff will not preapprove continuing education programs or 
sponsors.  It is the responsibility of the licensee to select quality programs that 
contribute to their knowledge and competence in the physical therapy field and 
which meet qualifications specified in these rules. 
 (4)  Qualifying continuing education hours/credits: 
 (a)  Category A activities:  A total of 20 continuing education hours/credits 
may be obtained in this category in each two-year cycle.  Category A includes: 
continuing education courses, physical therapy clinical specialty certification 
coursework, physical therapy clinical residency coursework, and postgraduate 
physical therapy education, including, but not limited to, postdoctor of physical 
therapy course work.  The course must be passed with a grade of "C" or higher or 
"pass" if a "pass/fail" course.  Category A activities are distinguished from category B 
and C activities in that they are approved for continuing education hours/credits by 
one of the following, regardless of whether the course is classroom-based, online, or 
home study: 
 (i)  an accredited medical, physical therapy, or healthcare education program; 
 (ii)  a national or state medical, physical therapy, or healthcare association, or 
a component of that association; or 
 (iii)  a national, medical, physical therapy, or healthcare specialty society.   
 (b)  Category B Activities:  A total of ten out of 20 continuing education credits 
may be obtained in this category in each two-year cycle.  Category B activities must 
meet the Standards of Continuing Competence (SCC) activities set forth by the 



 
 
 

 
9-5/10/12 MAR Notice No. 24-177-28 

-944- 

FSBPT.  Some Category B activities may not have not been approved for continuing 
education hours by any of the Category A approval organizations.  Category B 
includes: 
 (i)  any course that pertains to physical therapy, but which is not offered 
through an accredited medical, physical therapy, and/or healthcare education 
program as identified in (4)(a). 
 (c)  Category C Activities:  A total of ten out of 20 continuing education credits 
may be obtained in this category in each two-year cycle.  Category C activities must 
meet the SCC activities set forth by the FSBPT.  Some Category C activities may 
not have been approved for continuing education hours by any of the Category A 
approval organizations.  Category C includes: 
 (i)  teaching or lecturing principally for healthcare professionals, if teaching or 
lecturing is not the licensee's primary occupation.  One continuing education credit 
may be granted per one hour of lecture or teaching.  Max hour/credit five; 
 (ii)  being a current member of the American Physical Therapy Association 
(APTA).  Max hour/credit one; 
 (iii)  performing as an APTA-certified clinical instructor in each two-year cycle.  
Max hour/credit five; 
 (iv)  being a recognized committee member or serving on the Montana Board 
of Physical Therapy Examiners, the board of the Montana Chapter of American 
Physical Therapy Association (MAPTA), or nationally on the board of the APTA or 
the FSBPT in each two-year cycle.  Max hour/credit five; 
 (v)  being published in an area that pertains to physical therapy, if publishing 
is not a requirement for a licensee's primary occupation.  Max hour/credit five; 
 (vi)  taking and passing the jurisprudence exam in each two-year cycle.  Max 
hour/credit one; 
 (vii)  taking and completing the FSBPT's Practice Review Tool.  Max 
hour/credit one. 
 (5)  Activities excluded from continuing education credits:  Staff meetings, 
teaching of physical therapy-related courses, or if the licensee's primary occupation 
is teaching, regularly scheduled institutional activities such as rounds or case 
conferences, and repeating or retaking an activity and/or coursework. 
 (6) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-11-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is reorganizing and reformatting this rule as the board 
determined that the current rule is poorly organized and confusing to licensees. 
 The board is also amending this rule in general to change the current 
continuing education requirements to "competency" requirements.  The 
amendments will specifically add and define three competency categories with 
varying degrees of difficulty.  The board determined that following amendment, this 
rule will clearly set forth for licensees the variety of continuing education formats and 
the subject matter of continuing education. 
 The board notes that the purpose of requiring continuing education is to 
ensure that licensees remain up-to-date on current trends and changes in 



 
 
 

 
MAR Notice No. 24-177-28 9-5/10/12 

-945- 

healthcare, in addition to public protection.  Nationally, continuing education is 
moving toward a competency-based system.  In response to several requests from 
licensees, the doctor of physical therapy program has been incorporated into the 
proposed rule change.  The board anticipates that the amendments will result in 
continuing education requirements that are more affordable, accessible, and less 
restrictive than the current requirements. 
 Implementation cites are being amended to accurately reflect all statutes 
implemented through the rule. 
 
 24.177.2301  UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT  (1)  For the purpose of 
implementing the provisions of 37-11-321(3) and (9), MCA, the board defines 
immoral or unprofessional conduct, conduct unbecoming a person licensed as a 
physical therapist or physical therapist assistant, and conduct detrimental to the best 
interests of the public as follows: 
 (a)  Engaging in or soliciting sexual relations with a patient, sexual 
misconduct, sexual exploitation, sexual contact, or sexual intercourse, as defined in 
45-2-101, MCA, when such act or solicitation is related to the practice of physical 
therapy; 
 (b)  Incompetence, negligence, or use of any modality procedure in the 
practice of the profession, which creates an unreasonable risk of physical or mental 
harm to the patient; 
 (c) remains the same. 
 (d)  Any of the following, except when reasonably undertaken in an 
emergency situation to protect life, health, or property: 
 (i)  accepting and performing physical therapy or physical therapist assistant 
responsibilities, which the licensee knows or has reason to know that he or she is 
not competent to perform; or 
 (ii) and (1)(e) remain the same. 
 (f)  Promoting for personal gain of any unnecessary or inefficacious drug, 
device, treatment, procedure, or service; 
 (g)  Over utilizing services by continuing treatment beyond the point of 
possible benefit to the patient, or treating more frequently than necessary to obtain 
maximum therapeutic effect; 
 (h)  Offering, undertaking, or agreeing to cure or treat disease or affliction by 
a secret method, procedure, treatment, or medicine, or the treating, operating, or 
prescribing for any health condition by a method, means, or procedure which the 
licensee refuses to divulge upon demand of the board; 
 (i) and (j) remain the same. 
 (k)  Fee-splitting and over utilization of services.; 
 (l)  Failure to comply with the continuing education requirement as per ARM 
24.177.2105. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-11-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-316, 37-1-319, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule to add licensees' failure to complete the 
required continuing education as unprofessional conduct, so that licensees are 
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aware of the negative implications of this failure.  The board has become aware of 
licensees who have checked "yes" on their renewal forms to completing continuing 
education, but when audited, were found to not meet their continuing education 
requirements. 
 
 4.  The rule proposed to be repealed is as follows: 
 
 24.177.2405  SCREENING PANEL found on ARM page 24-20225. 
 
 AUTH:  37-11-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-307, MCA 
 
REASON:  The 2009 Montana Legislature amended 2-15-1748, MCA, the statute 
that reflects the board's membership, and deleted the physician member.  The board 
determined that it is reasonably necessary to repeal this rule as there is no longer a 
medical doctor member and department statutes adequately outline the screening 
panel process. 
 
 5.  Concerned persons may present their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to the Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 301 South Park Avenue, 
P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-2305, or 
by e-mail to dlibsdptp@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., June 
8, 2012. 
 
 6.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Public Hearing is available through the 
department and board's web site on the World Wide Web at www.pt.mt.gov.  The 
department strives to make the electronic copy of this notice conform to the official 
version of the notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises 
all concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed 
text of the notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text 
will be considered.  In addition, although the department strives to keep its web site 
accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web site may 
be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or technical 
problems, and that technical difficulties in accessing or posting to the e-mail address 
do not excuse late submission of comments. 
 
 7.  The board maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this board.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies the person 
wishes to receive notices regarding all board administrative rulemaking proceedings 
or other administrative proceedings.  The request must indicate whether e-mail or 
standard mail is preferred.  Such written request may be sent or delivered to the 
Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513; faxed to the office at (406) 841-2305; e-mailed to 
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dlibsdptp@mt.gov; or made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held 
by the agency. 
 
 8.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 
 9.  Anne O'Leary, attorney, has been designated to preside over and conduct 
this hearing. 
 
 
 BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS 
 PATTIE JO LANE, PT, CHAIRPERSON 
 
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Darcee L. Moe Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State April 30, 2012 


