
Montana Board of Realty Regulation 
301 S. Park Ave., 4th Floor 

PO Box 200513 
Helena, MT 59620-0513 

PHONE: 406-841-2204 FAX: 406-841-2323 
E-MAIL: dlibsdrre@mt.gov   WEBSITE: www.realestate.mt.gov 

 
TO:   Real Estate Continuing Education Course Applicants 
FROM:  Board of Realty Regulation Education Committee 
RE:   Continuing Education Application Requirements 
 
 
The following is a checklist of items that you must provide to the Board of Realty Regulation for 
each continuing education course application. Incomplete applications will not be reviewed. 
Refunds will not be issued for incomplete or denied applications. 
 

1. Each complete course application and fee must be submitted at least 30 days prior to 
the intended course date.  Please note, courses requiring additional review or needing 
additional information may take in excess of 90 days for review. The fee for each course 
application is $130.00.  
 

2. Submit a narrative describing the goal(s) and objectives of the course and how the course 
will benefit and protect Montana real estate consumers.  

 
3. Submit a detailed, timed course outline broken down in a minimum of 15-minute 

intervals. Sources (i.e. court cases, laws, rules, policies etc.) for material being presented 
should be cited in the outline or accompanying material(s).  As the applicant, it is your 
responsibility to provide adequate information for approval.   

 
4. The course must be taught by an approved instructor.  If the instructor has not yet been 

approved, you must include an instructor application and fee.  Instructors are not 
automatically approved. 

 
5. Courses must consist of at least 1 hour of instruction in order to be considered and must 

meet one of the currently approved Board of Realty Regulation topics (topics can be found 
on our website at www.realestate.mt.gov : Educ: Approved Topics and Education 
Requirements). 
 

6. Copies of all handouts and course materials (including textbooks) that will be 
distributed during class must be included with the course application. 
 

7. In order for distance education courses to be approved in Montana, they must first be 
certified by the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) and then 
submitted to the Board of Realty Regulation for content review. 

 
 
***************************************************************** 
Send a complete application packet and all fees to Education Director, Board of Realty Regulation, 
P.O. Box 200513, Helena, MT 59620-0513.  DO NOT SEND CASH.  Make check or money orders 
payable to the Board of Realty Regulation.  You may also pay with a credit card or e-check by 
completing the attached authorization form. 
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OFFICE USE 
CE #__________ 

APPROVED: 
YES____ NO____ 
DATE__________ 
TOPIC _________ 
M_____ E______ 

 
Montana Board of Realty Regulation 

301 S. Park Ave., 4th Floor 
PO Box 200513 

Helena, MT 59620-0513 
PHONE: 406-841-2204 FAX: 406-841-2323 

E-MAIL: dlibsdrre@mt.gov    
WEBSITE: www.realestate.mt.gov  

 
CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPLICATION 

Fill out form below, sign and submit it, along with a non-refundable $130.00 application fee per 
course and all applicable materials to the address above.   Applications submitted without 
all required materials will not be considered.         
                                         
COURSE INFORMATION: 
 
Course title: _______________________________________________________________  
Course description:  Seminar   Conference   Distance Education     Other 

 
Number of hours you are applying for:  _______________  
 
Are you applying for mandatory or elective hours? ___________________________________ 
(Please refer to CE Topics List at www.realestate.mt.gov: Educ) 
 
What approved topic applies to the course content? __________________________________ 
(Please refer to CE Topics List at www.realestate.mt.gov: Educ) 
 
Has this course previously been approved for credit? (If yes, indicate approval #)___________ 
 
PROVIDER INFORMATION:  
 
Name of provider institution: ____________________________________________________ 
 
Provider Institution EIN:_______________________________________________________ 
 
Contact Person: ______________________________________________________________  
 
Telephone:_______________ Fax:______________ Email:____________________________ 
 
Address _____________________________________________________________________ 
  (Street, P.O. Box)   (City)       (State) (Zip) 
 
Approved Provider #___________________________________________________________ 
 
INSTRUCTOR  INFORMATION: Each course must be associated with an approved 
instructor. 
 
Course instructor(s): _________________________________________________________  
 
Course instructor(s) approval #(s):______________________________________________ 
 
Date(s) & Location(s) where course offering(s) will be held:____________________________ 
 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
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Fees (Cost to each licensee): ____________________________________________________ 
 
The course applicant verifies that s/he has read and understands the following 
requirements: 
 

 The applicant’s information and supporting materials are true and correct and course 
information is compliant with both current Montana laws and rules and current Federal 
laws. 
 

 Failure to keep current with Montana and Federal laws regarding the course subject 
matter may result in course revocation. 
 

 Per ARM 24.210.604 (4), “Only brokers with a current supervising broker endorsement 
or who are attempting to reinstate an expired endorsement may get credit for 
completing supervising broker continuing education.” Other licensees may take the 
course, but credits should not be reported for them. However, they should be given a 
certificate of completion. 
 

 Courses may only be advertised as “pending approval” after the Board has received a 
complete course application.  
 

 Course approval applications should be submitted at least 30 days before the first 
course offering. 
 

 All upcoming courses must be posted to the Board of Realty Regulation’s website. Please 
refer to the Provider Information Newsletter at www.realestate.mt.gov : Educ: Forms: 
Provider Information Newsletter) for directions on posting courses.   
 

 The course must be administered according to current Montana Board of Realty 
Regulation Rules (www.realestate.mt.gov: Regs: Administrative Rules) regarding 
continuing education courses. 

 
 
 
Applicant’s signature:  
 
___________________________________________________Date_____________________ 
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