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Montana Board of Realty Regulation 

301 S. Park Ave., 4th Floor 
PO Box 200513 

Helena, MT 59620-0513 
PHONE: 406-841-2300  

E-MAIL: dlibsdrre@mt.gov 
WEBSITE: www.realestate.mt.gov 

 
 
 
 
 

TO: Real Estate Salesperson and Broker Prelicensing Course Applicants 
FROM: Board of Realty Regulation Education Committee 
RE: Prelicensing Application Requirements 

 
 

The following is a checklist of items that you must provide to the Board of Realty Regulation. 
Incomplete applications will not be reviewed. Refunds will not be issued for incomplete 
or denied applications. 

 
1. Each complete course application and fee must be submitted at least 60 days prior to 

the first intended course date. Please note, courses requiring additional review or 
needing additional information may take in excess of 90 days for review. 
 

2. Each complete course application and fee must be received at least 15 business 
days prior to a board meeting. Board meeting dates may be found at the Board’s 
website at www.realestate.mt.gov: Board Info.:  Board Meetings. 

 
3. Submit a complete timed outline or syllabus, along with a copy of the instructor manual 

(if applicable). As the applicant, it is your responsibility to provide adequate 
information for approval. Please include a detailed timed course outline and note the 
class instruction hours for each topic. 

 
4. The course must be taught by an approved prelicensing instructor. If the instructor has  

not yet been approved, you must include a prelicensing instructor application and fee. 
Instructors are not automatically approved. 

 
5. Courses must consist of 60 hours in order to be considered and must fulfill the Board's  

current requirements for prelicensing education. 
 

6. In order for distance education courses to be approved in Montana, they must first be  
certified by the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) and then 
submitted to the Board of Realty Regulation for content review. 

 
7. Copies of all handouts and course materials (including textbooks) that will be distributed  

during class must be included with the course application, even if it is an application for 
a previously approved course. 

 
 
******************************************************************************** 

Send a complete application packet and all fees to Department of Labor & Industry, 
Board of Realty Regulation, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, MT 59620-0513. 
DO NOT SEND CASH. Make check or money orders payable to the 
Board of Realty Regulation. DO NOT e-mail or fax application as 
original signature is required. 

mailto:dlibsdrre@mt.gov
http://www.realestate.mt.gov/
http://www.realestate.mt.gov/
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SALESPERSON OR BROKER PRELICENSING EDUCATION COURSE APPLICATION 

Fill out form below, sign and submit it, along with a non-refundable $150.00 application fee 
per course and applicable materials to the address above. DO NOT E-mail or Fax 
application as original signature required.  

 
THE COURSE BEING OFFERED WILL BE FOR (CHECK ONE): SALESPERSON BROKER 

 
Name of Provider Institution 

 
Contact Person: 

 
Telephone: Fax: 

 
Email Address: 

 
Address:  

 
Street, PO Box City State Zip 

 

SSN/EIN NUMBER: 
 
 

ADVERTISING (SUBMIT COPIES) 
 

FACILITY INFORMATION (describe facility standards, size of class, equipment, visual aids, etc.) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FEES (COST TO EACH LICENSEE) 
 

COURSE INSTRUCTOR(S) 
 

COURSE DATES & LOCATIONS (List all scheduled offerings) 

mailto:dlibsdrre@mt.gov
http://www.realestate.mt.gov/
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AFFADAVIT OF UNDERSTANDING 

 
The applicant verifies that s/he has read and understands the following requirements: 

 
The applicant's information and supporting materials are true and correct and course 
information is compliant with both current Montana laws and rules and current Federal laws. 

 
Prelicensing courses are approved for three years from the date of approval; failure to 
keep current with Montana and Federal laws regarding the course subject matter may 
result in course revocation. 

 
Each complete course application and fee must be received at least 15 business 
days prior to a board meeting. Board meeting dates may be found at the 
Board’s website at www.realestate.mt.gov: Board Info.:  Board Meetings. 
 
Course approval applications should be submitted at least 60 days before the first 
course offering. 

 
A separate application should be submitted for each course. 

 
The course must be administered according to current Montana Board of Realty 
Regulation Rules (www.realestate.mt.gov: Regs: Administrative Rules) regarding 
salesperson and broker prelicensing courses. See attached rule 24.210.660. 

 

 
 
 

Applicant's signature: 
 

   Date:    

http://www.realestate.mt.gov/
http://www.realestate.mt.gov/
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24.210.660 PRELICENSING EDUCATION -- SALESPERSONS AND BROKERS 
(1) Request for approval of a prelicensing education course and instructor approval must be 

made on forms approved by the board and submitted 60 days prior to the initial course 
offering date.  
 

(2) Expiration of course approval or instructor approval is three years from the date of approval, 
but may be revoked for cause. 

 
(3) Distance education courses may be approved if the board determines that: 

(a) an appropriate and complete application has been filed and approved by the board; 
(b) the distance education course meets the content requirements as established under this 
rule; 
(c) the distance education course is certified by the Association of Real Estate License Law 
Officials (ARELLO) and the course provider has provided appropriate documentation that 
the ARELLO certification is in effect. Approval will cease immediately should ARELLO 
certification be discontinued for any reason; and 
(d) the distance education course meets all other requirements as prescribed in the statutes 
and rules that govern the operation of approved courses. 

 
(4) It is the responsibility of the applicant to verify that courses are approved for Montana prior 

to completing the course for credit. 
 

(5) Advanced nationally recognized designation courses may be submitted and may be 
approved, in part, to fulfill specific topics of the broker prelicensing education requirement. 

 
(6) Instructors teaching more than 25 percent of a prelicensing course must be approved by the 

board as prelicensing instructors. 
 

(7) The course provider is responsible for the actions and representations of all instructors who 
aid or assist in the instruction of the prelicensing education course. 

 
(8) No more than eight hours of instruction may be offered per day. Examination time does not 

count as hours of instruction. 
 

(9) Approved instructors must have one year of experience in real estate education, and: 
(a) a bachelor's degree in a field traditionally associated with the subject matter being 
taught; or 
(b) advanced training on instruction methods and adult learning. 
 

(10) Prelicensing course to obtain a sales license must consist of the following topics: 
(a) practices, principles, and essentials of real estate; 
(b) real estate law; 
(c) taxation; 
(d) property management and leasing; 
(e) ethics and standards of practice; 
(f) estimating closing costs, escrow, and closing and settlement practices; 
(g) finance; 
(h) hazardous waste or environmental issues; 

http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24%2E210%2E660
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(i) agency; 
(j) contract law and documents; 
(k) state rules and regulations; 
(l) general trust accounting for real estate licenses; 
(m) forms of ownership; 
(n) title and transfer of title; 
(o) recording acts; 
(p) negligence or misrepresentation (risk management); 
(q) real estate security instruments; 
(r) fair housing; 
(s) Regulation Z; and 
(t) landlord tenant law. 

 
(11) The 60 hours of board-approved broker prelicensing education will consist of the following 
modules: 

(a) business management; 
(b) contracts; 
(c) financial management; 
(d) liability pertaining to real estate practice; 
(e) professional conduct; 
(f) real estate and property management trust accounting; and 
(g) property management. 

(12) Courses must be designed so that no more than ten minutes per 60 minutes are allowed 
for breaks in instruction. Break time may be accumulated and used in blocks at the instructor's 
discretion. 
(13) The applicant must attend 90 percent of the first hour and 100 percent of each additional 
hour of the approved course time in order to receive credit for attendance. Reasonable 
accommodations will be made for people with medical conditions. 
(14) A board representative may, at no charge, audit all board-approved courses for rule 

compliance. 
 
History: 37-1-131, 37-51-203, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-51-302, MCA; NEW, 1995 MAR p. 

2397, Eff. 11/10/95; AMD, 1999 MAR p. 405, Eff. 3/12/99; AMD, 2002 MAR p. 2905, Eff. 10/18/02; 
TRANS, from Commerce, 2005 MAR p. 2455; AMD, 2007 MAR p. 1329, Eff. 9/7/07; AMD, 2010 
MAR p. 532, Eff. 2/26/10; AMD, 2012 MAR p. 1776, Eff. 9/7/12. 

 

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/37/1/37-1-131.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/37/51/37-51-203.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/37/1/37-1-131.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/37/51/37-51-302.htm

